This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

September 8, 2006

Northwest Men's Team place 2nd and the Women place 6th at the CMSU Mule Run

WARRENSBURG, Mo. - Northwest Missouri State men's cross country placed second among 15 teams at the Central Missouri State Mule Run tonight, while the women's team took sixth overall. Sophomore Anna O'Brien (Easton, Mo.) placed in the top ten with an eighth place finish leading the women to a team total of 168 points. Senior Matt Pohren (Omaha, Neb.) placed fifth for the Bearcat men as the team scored 93 points.

O'Brien was the top female runner in the 2.5 mile race placing eighth overall with a time of 15:04. Karah Spader (York, Neb.) finished 19th for the Bearcats, followed by Jennifer Dittburner (Scottsdale, Ariz.) placing 41st respectively. Finishing out the top five runners for the Bearcats were Anne Benedict (St. Joseph, Mo.) placing 56th and Jane Bowness (Steelville, Mo.) finishing in 64th place.

Pohren finished with a time of 20:26.25, placing fifth overall. Following him was Drew Wilson (Stanton, Iowa) who finished in ninth place. Brandon Dart (Fremont, Neb.) crossed the finish line in 12th place, Bichok Deng (Marshalltown, Iowa) in 22nd and rounding out the top five for the Bearcats was Jesse Sewell (St. Ambrose, Iowa) with a 57th place finish.

Finishing first overall in the men's division was T. Jay Sanderson of Southwest Baptist in a time of 19:59.32. In the women's race, Kristin Anderson (unattached) crossed the finish line first in a time of 14:01.71.

The Bearcats will be in action again on Sat. Sept. 16 at the Woody/Greeno Invitational in Lincoln, Neb. Races begin at 10:00 A.M.

Northwest Men's Finishers:
5. Matt Pohren (20:26.25)
9. Drew Wilson (20:39.48)
12. Brandon Dart (20:48.79)
22. Bichok Deng (21:10.37)
57. Jesse Sewell (22:22.29)
73. Jeff Ritchie (22:43.72)
83. Austin Huerta (23:04.53)
88. Ryan Gates (23:20.16)
99. Anthony Davidson (23:34.46)
128. Alex Oliver (25:30.21)

Northwest Women's Finishers:
8. Anna O'Brien (15:04.45)
19. Karah Spader (15:26.46)
41. Jennifer Dittburner (15:57.86)
56. Anne Benedict (16:29.38)
64. Jane Bowness (16:45.11)
68. Blair Sample (16:54.12)
69. Maggie McManigal (16:54.50)
77. Kimberly Eversgerd (17:10.05)
78. Amanda Gray (17:13.28)
82. Kim Homan (17:25.82)
83. Mandee Johnson (17:28.69)
98. Tennille Shearer (18:14.39)
103. Megan Tinsley (18:33.42)

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468