This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

October 22, 2005

Men's Cross Country Finishes Third at MIAA Championships

PITTSBURG, Kan. - Matt Pohren (Omaha, Neb.) finished sixth overall to lead the Northwest Missouri State Men's Cross Country team to a third place finish at the 2005 MIAA Championships, hosted by Pittsburg State in Pittsburg, Kan. Anna O'Brien (Easton, Mo.) turned in a record-breaking run, finishing 11th and leading the women's team to a sixth place finish in the conference meet.

Pohren finished the 8K course in 25:41.9, his fourth top finish for Northwest in five races this season. Junior Drew Wilson (Stanton, Iowa) finished in eighth overall, crossing the finish line in 25:51.5, while Brandon Dart (Fremont, Neb.) rounded out the top-20 overall with a 12th place finish in 26:02.8. The third place finish for the team was the best for the Bearcats since they placed second in the conference meet in 1998.

O'Brien crossed the finish line in 22:41.1, a new Northwest Missouri State record in the 6K run. O'Brien has finished first for Northwest in every race this season. Karah Spader (York, Neb.) finished in 17th overall, running 22:59.8, a time that places her second in the all-time list. O'Brien and Spader have finished in the top two places for the Bearcats in every race this season. Senior Heather Brokaw (Lake St. Louis, Mo.) ran 23:14.3, finishing 23rd overall, and placing in the fifth position in the all-time records list.

Jarod Wall of Central Missouri State finished first in the men's division, running a time of 24:55.0, while Gina Kennison of Central Missouri State took top honors in the women's division, running a time of 21:52.0. Missouri Southern State took top men's team honors, while Central Missouri State was the top team in the women's division.

Both Northwest teams will be traveling to Abilene, Tex., to take part in the NCAA Division II South Central Regional meet on Sat., Nov. 5.

Northwest Men Finishers:
6. Matt Pohren (25:41.9)
8. Drew Wilson (25.51.5)
12. Brandon Dart (26:02.8)
22. Jeff Kanger (26:35.8)
25. Bryan Touney (26:52.1)
28. Austin Huerta (27:03.9)
40. Devin McCall (27:26.6)
45. Jeff Ritchie (27:58.7)
49. Brad Sorensen (28:30.7)
52. Anthony Davidson (29:11.6)

Northwest Women's Finishers:
11. Anna O'Brien (22:41.1)
17. Karah Spader (22:59.8)
23. Heather Brokaw (23:14.3)
37. Dia McKee (23:57.4)
44. Maggie McManigal (24:18.4)
49. Amanda Gray (25:07.1)
52. Krista Martine (26:11.1)
53. Emily VonWeihe (26:21.7)
54. Kristen Degase (26:31.4)
55. Carly Reinoehl (25:51.0)

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468