This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

September 17, 2005

Both Northwest Teams Finish 19th in Woody Greeno/UNL Invite

LINCOLN, Neb. - Junior Matt Pohren (Omaha, Neb.) and freshman Anna O'Brien (Easton, Mo.) again led the way for the Northwest Missouri State Cross Country teams, as both teams finished 19th in the Woody Greeno/UNL Invite today. The men's division consisted of 31 teams, while the women competed against 28 other teams.

Pohren crossed the line at 27:06, followed by junior Drew Wilson (Stanton, Iowa) in 79th. Brandon Dart (Fremont, Neb.), who finished 111th out of 319 runners, ran a time of 27:16 in the 8K race.

O'Brien, who is the top Bearcat finisher in all three races this year, finished the 6K race in 35th with a time of 23:23. Sophomore Karah Spader (York, Neb.) finished in 70th out of 277 runners with a time of 24:08, while Maggie McManigal (Colorado Springs, Colo.) rounded out the top 100 runners with a time of 24:35.

Joseph Maina of Butler Community College was the top runner in the men's division with a time of 24:54. Anne Shadle was the women's champion with a time of 20:51. The Air Force Academy was the top men's team, while the co-host University of Nebraska-Lincoln finished as the top women's team.

The Northwest Missouri State Men's Cross Country team will be in action next Saturday, Sept. 24, as they travel to Crete, Neb., to take part in the Dean White Invitational. The women's team will be in action on Oct. 1 at the Loyola Lakefront Invitational in Chicago, Ill. All meets begin at 10:00 A.M.

Northwest Men's finishers:
65. Matt Pohren (27:06)
79. Drew Wilson (27:16)
111. Brandon Dart (27:39)
151. Bryan Touney (28:10)
203. Brad Sorenson (29:05)
211. Devin McCall (29:12)
295. Anthony Davidson (31:51)
300. Austin Huerta (32:14)

Northwest Women's Finishers:
35. Anna O'Brien (23:23)
70. Karah Spader (24:08)
94. Maggie McManigal (24:35)
161. Dia McKee (25:43)
178. Kristen Degase (26:03)
204. Emily Von Weihe (26:35)
228. Carly Reinoehl (27:16)
229. Amanda Gray (27:18)
237. Lacey Jackson (27:42)
242. Kara Poehlman (27:57)
247. Krista Martine (28:15)
251. Jennifer Williams (28:26)
252. Megan Tinsley (28:36)

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468