This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

September 9, 2005

Both Northwest Teams Finish Fifth in CMSU Mule Run

WARRENSBURG, Mo. - Freshman Anna O'Brien (Easton, Mo.) finished in the top five for the women's program, as junior Matt Pohren (Omaha, Neb.) finished 13th overall for the men's team, as both led the Northwest Missouri State cross-country teams to a fifth place finish in the annual Central Missouri State University Mule Run. The event took place Friday, Sept. 9.

Pohren finished with a time of 21:13.10 in the four-mile run, followed by Brandon Dart (Fremont, Neb.) in 22nd place. Drew Wilson (Stanton, Iowa) crossed the finish line in 24th, and rounding out the top 40 was junior Bryan Touney (Lake Lotawana, Mo.), who finished in 34th place.

O'Brien remained Northwest's top female runner as ran the 2.5 mile course with a time of 15:05.98. Karah Spader (York, Neb.) finished 15th for the Bearcats, followed by Heather Brokaw (Lake St. Louis, Mo.) and Maggie McManigal (Colorado Springs, Colo.), who both finished 33rd and 34th respectively.

Soimo Kiplagat of Lindenwood University finished first in the men's division with a time of 19:38.85, while the women's champion was Evelina Slatinska of Central Methodist University, who finished in 14:20.96. Central Missouri State University was the top team in both men's and women's divisions.

The Bearcats will be in action again on Sept. 17, as they travel to the Woody Greeno/UNL Invitational in Lincoln, Neb. Races begin at 10:00 A.M.

Northwest Men's Finishers:
13. Matt Pohren (21.13.10)
22. Brandon Dart (21:38.92)
24. Drew Wilson (21:47.19)
34. Bryan Touney (22:00.29)
44. Austin Huerta (22:18.93)
57. Brad Sorenson (22:34.62)
62. Jeff Ritchie (22:43.81)
82. Devin McCall (23:26.77)
90. Anthony Davidson (23:59.03)

Northwest Women's Finishers:
5. Anna O'Brien (15:05.98)
15. Karah Spader (15:35.34)
33. Heather Brokaw (16:10.69)
34. Maggie McManigal (16:12.33)
49. Amanda Gray (16:49.03)
52. Emily Von Weihe (16:53.46)
54. Dia McKee (16:57.80)
62. Kristen Degase (17:27.16)
77. Carly Reinoehl (17:54.41)
81. Lacey Jackson (18:14.43)
85. Krista Martine (18:32.43)
91. Megan Tinsley (18:48.81)
94. Jennifer Williams (18:58.70

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468