This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

May 13, 2010

Bearcat Booster Club Meeting
Thursday, May 13, 2010

Booster Board Members Present: Pat Haynes, Jon Baldwin, Teri Harr, Allison Hoffman, John VanCleave, ray Courter, Linda Girard, John Yates, Bob Rice, Jerry Lutz, Dan Edmonds, Jim Goecken, Michelle Drake; Ex-Officio Present: Mark Clements, Bob Boerigter; Guests Present: John Coffey

President Baldwin called meeting to order.

Harr motioned and Girard seconded to approve the minutes of April 8, 2010, motion carried; Treasurer's report - Clements reported an outstanding commitment of $2,557 for Track which leaves a balance in General Fund of $28,817.52; and $31,178.60 in Transportation - VanCleave motioned and Harr seconded to accept the Treasurer's Report, motion carried

Old Business -Clements reported that the two 2010 Ford Fusions are now on campus; changed membership promotion to include Barbecue for all levels of memberships

New Business -
A. Tennis Request - Clements requested on behalf of Coach Rosewell that we purchase 14 green, five foot green benches for tennis courts at a cost of $180 each - total with shipping will be close to $2,900
B. Bearcat Radio Network - Coffey requested support from Booster Club for $2,000 for KXCV and Bearcat Sports broadcast promotions - would get the same coverage as in the past, question was asked about supporting Volleyball and Baseball through broadcast - Coffey responded that there might be a problem with finding air time

AD Report - Boerigter distributed copies of the 2010 Annual Report which reflected Athletic successes; mentioned the death of a track student, Waylon Martensen; training room renovation project is underway; MIAA Inaugural Hall of Fame induction - of the 15 inaugural members being inducted, Northwest has 5 - Hank Iba, Jack McCracken, Ryland Milner, Jim Redd, and Herschel Neil), as well as long time MIAA Commissioner Ken B. Jones; Northwest M-Club Hall of Fame members to be inducted in Fall 2010 are Lyndsey Borgstadt, Don Neil, Seth Wand, Tucker Woolsey, Brad Ortmeier, Jim Wasem, and 1975 Women's Cross Country Team; Stephanie Martin has resigned and Lori Hopkins will be replacing her; Fall football season at 10 games with the Fall Classic being held November 13 and Men's Basketball opening November 14; Volleyball match between UNO will be played @ Red Oak, IA

Other Business - Nominating Committee - Rice, Barr, and Harr were appointed to the Nominating Committee; those whose terms expire are Girard, Hoffman, Lutz, and VanCleave; committee needs to find new Board members and officers

Actions Items -
A. Tennis Request - Rice motioned and VanCleave seconded to provide up to $2,900 to purchase fourteen, five foot green benches for tennis courts, motion carried
B. Radio Network - Rice motionsed and Hoffman seconded to provide $2,000 for Booster Club radio promotions, motion carried

Harr motioned and Hoffman seconded to adjourn; motion carried. Next meeting will be Annual Meeting to be held in the Lamkin Conference Room on June 10, 2010.