This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


May 10, 2012

Abernathy named All-MIAA First-Team

MARYVILLE, Mo. – Sophomore Ryan Abernathy earned a spot on the All-MIAA First-Team to highlight five Northwest Missouri State players earning all-conference accolades released by the conference office Thursday.

Abernathy becomes the first Bearcat to earn a spot on the first-team since 2007, when Ryley Westman and John White earned respective honors. The Chesterfield, Mo., native led the league in hits with 71 as he also led Northwest in runs (49), doubles (17) and stolen bases (11). His hits rank tied for fifth on the single season list at Northwest as does his 17 doubles.

Earning Honorable Mention All-MIAA nods were juniors Eric Swain and Cameron Bedard along with sophomore Eric McGlauflin and freshman Steven Garber. Swain led the Bearcats and finished second in the league with 10 homeruns while also leading the team with 41 RBIs.

McGlauflin finished in the top 10 in the league in batting average (.387) and on base percentage (.474) while Bedard finished at a .339 clip with a .448 on base percentage. Garber started in 39 games for Northwest at first base hitting .308 with 35 RBIs and was third on the team with a .525 slugging percentage in his first season.

2012 MIAA Champion Central Missouri nearly swept the end of year awards as Bret Schwartz was named Player of the Year and teammate Lee Stoppelman earned Pitcher of the Year accolades. The Mules head coach, Tommy Myers, earned his third Coach of the Year honors while Shawn Talkington of Emporia State was named Freshman of the Year.


Bret Schwartz, Sr., SS, Central Missouri

Lee Stoppelman, Sr., Central Missouri

Shawn Talkington, P, Emporia State

Tommy Myers, Central Missouri 

SP: Lee Stoppelman, Sr., Central Missouri
SP: Brandon Simmons, Jr., Missouri Western
SP: Cody Griebling, Sr., Missouri Southern
RP: Brett Macari, Sr., Fort Hays State
C: Drew Miller, So., Southwest Baptist
1B: Spencer Shockley, Jr., Missouri Western
2B: Eric Dawson, Jr., Emporia State
SS: Bret Schwartz, Sr., Central Missouri** [r1]
3B: John Calhoun, Sr., Washburn**
OF: Ryan Busboom, Jr., Fort Hays State**
OF: Gabe Thibodeau, Sr., Central Missouri
OF: Ryan Abernathy, So., Northwest Missouri
DH: Joe Vaskas, Sr., Emporia State [r1]
UT: Chris Pfau, Sr., Lincoln

**Unanimous Selection
[r1] - Repeat first team selection from last season

SP: Brett Ash, Jr., Washburn
SP: Nik Jurado, Sr., Missouri Western
SP: Kurtis Schuyler, So., Central Missouri
RP: Travis Unthank, Sr., Central Missouri
C: Chase Graskewicz, Jr., Central Missouri
1B: Brad Alberts, Jr., Washburn
2B: Luke Acosta, Sr., Missouri Southern
SS: Ashton McCoy, Jr., Emporia State
3B: Grant Fink, Jr., Missouri Western
OF: Nash Smith, Sr., Fort Hays State
OF: Tyler Christophel, Sr., Southwest Baptist
OF: Dorian Williams, Sr., Emporia State
DH: Nate Ramler, Jr., Missouri Western
UT: Tyler Bean, Sr., Washburn

Central Missouri: Dane Krone, Jr., RP; John Oropeza, Jr., 1B; Jon Cotter, Jr., 2B; Jordan Coons, Sr., 3B; Albert Selanders, Jr., OF; Ben Cox, So., DH.

Emporia State: Derek Brooks, Sr., SP; Brandon Faulkner, Sr., SP; Joe Kornbrust, Sr., OF.

Fort Hays State: Shawn Lewick, Sr., SP; Mace Krol, Sr., DH.

Missouri Southern: David Reese, So., SP; Sam Ryan, Jr., C; Michael McCoy, Jr., OF; Jesse Kinzey, Sr., UT; Cullen Baxter, Sr., UT.

Missouri Western: Michael Schulze, So., SS.

Northwest Missouri: Steven Garber, Fr., 1B; Cameron Bedard, Jr., 2B; Eric Swain, Jr., SS; Eric McGlauflin, So., UT.

Pittsburg State: Matt Stalcup, Jr., SP; Chase Barnes, Sr., OF.

Southwest Baptist: Jacob Sullinger, Jr., RP.

Truman: Devon Myers, Sr., C.

Washburn: Kerry Schachenmeyer, Sr., SP; Richard Swan, Jr., C; Marcus Peavler, Sr., OF.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468