This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

May 15, 2006

Coons Lands on All-MIAA First Team; Seven Others Spread Out on Second and Honorable Mention Teams

MIAA Sports Information

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- Five members of the MIAA regular season champion Emporia State Hornets earned first-team recognition-- four being unanimous choices -- on the 2006 All-MIAA Baseball Team, in a vote of the conference's coaches.

The Hornets (44-11, 25-4 MIAA) dominated the pitching selections, getting two unanimous choices at starting pitcher with senior RHPs Gabe Medina and Toro Trevino and the unanimous choice at relief pitcher with senior RHP Matt Petty.

Medina enters the NCAA Division II Central Regional at ESU's Glennen Field second in the MIAA with 11 wins (against one loss), a 2.69 earned run average, and a league-high 12.62 strikeouts per seven innings. He also picked up the conference's Pitcher of the Year Award.

Trevino is 8-3 with a 3.15 ERA (fourth in the MIAA) in a league-high 25 appearances this season. He's started seven games and tossed two no-hitters in a 13-day span this season.

Petty is second to Trevino in appearances in the MIAA with 24, and is second in saves with eight. He's also 3-0 with a 3.76 ERA with 39 strikeouts in 26 2/3 innings pitched.

Junior OF Mark McBratney, the Hornets' leading hitter, rounds out the quartet of unanimous selections. He has a .401 batting average (fifth in the MIAA) after going 10-of-18 in the conference tournament with a home run, four RBI and five runs scored.

Senior C John Martin was ESU's fifth first-team honoree. He caught most of the 55 games for the No. 2 pitching staff in the MIAA (4.27 ERA), hit .299 and threw out 16 of 40 base runners (40.0 percent).

The other two MIAA teams to make the regional field, Central Missouri State (44-14, 22-8 MIAA) and Missouri Western (30-23, 21-9 MIAA), each had three first-team selections.

CMSU junior 3B Bridger Hunt was the only non-Hornet to be a unanimous first-team selection, and earned the nod as Player of the Year.

He's fourth in conference batting with a .414 average after going 8-for-18 with two doubles, two triples, four RBI and five runs scored in the Mules run to a seventh straight MIAA Tournament championship last weekend. Hunt leads the conference in hits (91 -- 1.57 per game) and triples (10 -- 0.17 per game).

Hunt was joined on the first team by junior 2B Gabe Mochizuki and senior OF Adam Milauskas. Mochizuki is seventh in the conference in hitting (.390) and has a .961 fielding percentage with just nine errors in 232 chances and has taken part in 33 of CMSU's 43 double plays.

Milauskas has a .364 batting average, but has batted .491 (26-of-53) in the month of May with seven of his MIAA-best 15 homers (.283 per game) coming in the last two weeks.

Western's trio includes senior 1B Ryan Zenn, junior SS Sam Walker and senior DH Andrew Simpson. Zenn is second in the MIAA in hitting (.420), hits (76 -- 1.55 per game) and on-base percentage (.488).

Simpson (.366) and Walker (.353) are right behind Zenn on the Griffon batting leaders. Simpson is second in the MIAA in triples (8 -- .16 per game) and tied for 10th in hits (67 -- 1.37 per game).

Four other schools had players make the first team. Senior OF Matt Coons from Northwest Missouri State (26-23, 15-14 MIAA) is third in batting with a .415 average and averaged 1.05 runs scored per game (sixth in the conference).

Sophomore RHP Zane Montgomery of Southwest Baptist (21-28, 10-18 MIAA) leads the MIAA in wins with 12 (against two losses) and added two saves with a league-high nine complete games, two shutouts and a 4.66 ERA .

Sophomore DH Mark Stoltz of Washburn (29-25, 16-12 MIAA) batted .348 for the Ichabods and hit 10 home runs (third in the MIAA at .24 per game) and had a .688 slugging percentage (sixth in the MIAA).

Senior UT Sean Zaborowski of Truman (10-33, 4-26 MIAA) split time between pitching and first base for the Bulldogs. He was 2-7 with one save on the mound and a 4.30 ERA (10th in the MIAA), while batting .310.

CMSU RHP Brandon Morris and SBU OF Jason Asher share Freshman of the Year honors. Morris is 9-0 for the Mules with a league-leading 2.20 ERA in 14 starts, while Asher hit .325 for the Bearcats and led the team with 37 runs scored.

Bob Fornelli, whose ESU squads have improved their victory totals in each of his three seasons, as well as qualify for the regional each time, was the unanimous choice of his peers as Wilson® Coach of the Year.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468