This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


July 17, 2013

Six Individuals and Two MIAA Championship Teams to Enter 2013 Hall of Fame

MARYVILLE, Mo. – Five outstanding former student-athletes, a long time faculty-athletics administrator and two MIAA Championship teams have been chosen for induction into the M-Club Hall of Fame this fall.

This year’s class features individuals Herb Dieterich (administration), John Edmonds (football), Gena Lindsay (women’s tennis), Clint Prange (men’s track & field), Steve Savard (football) and Diane (Kloewer) Sprick (women’s basketball).  The two conference championship teams being inducted are the 1984 softball team and the 1992 women’s tennis team.

The Class of 2013 will be officially enshrined into the M-Club Hall of Fame during the annual festivities on Friday, Oct. 25 in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom and will be recognized during the Homecoming football game on Saturday Oct. 26.

Tickets for the Friday evening banquet are $20 each and may be purchased by contacting Michele Steinmeyer in the athletics office at 660-562-1977. The deadline to reserve your spot at the banquet is Friday, Oct. 11.

The 2013 class will bring the total of individual inductees to 117 and the number of teams to 44. The M-Club Hall of Fame was established for individuals in 1980 and teams were first enshrined beginning in 1989.

Herb Dieterich (Faculty-Athletics Representative, 1928-68) – Dieterich will be posthumously inducted with this year’s class. He was a fixture on the Northwest campus for four decades. His service to the University was as a principal in the Horace Mann Laboratory School, as an education professor and chairman of secondary education. His commitment to Northwest extended into the athletic department in his long-time role as the Faculty Athletics Representative.  

John Edmonds (Football, 1999-2003) – A two-time All-MIAA linebacker, Edmonds was a member of a National Championship squad and four MIAA Championship teams during his time as a Bearcat. An exceptional student and athlete, Edmonds was one of two Division II athletes named a National College Football Scholar-Athlete in 2003 (the only Bearcat to ever receive this award) and was a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy (known as the Vincent dePaul Draddy Trophy at that time) which recognizes the top college football player in any division with the best combination of academics, community service and on-field performance. It is considered by many to be the “Academic Heisman”.

Gena Lindsay (Women’s Tennis, 2003-06) – A two-time MIAA MVP, Lindsay is in the top-5 in several categories including career singles wins (2nd), singles wins in one season (3rd) and career doubles wins (4th). She earned 1st team singles All-MIAA in 2005 and was honored twice by the league with the Sportsmanship Award.

Clint Prange (Track & Field, 2002-2006) – From 2000 to 2005, Prange was a dominate force in the Division II track and field world. He was a three time NCAA Discus Champion (2002, 2003, 2005).  In 2005, he was third in the NCAA indoor shot put and won the NCAA outdoor shot put title with a throw of 66-1, a mark that still stands in Division II track and field record books today. Prange concluded his career as one of the most decorated athletes in Bearcat track & field history. He was also honored by the MIAA as the Ken B. Jones Award winner (recognizing the top all-around MIAA student-athlete) in 2005.

Steve Savard (Football, 1982-1985) – Savard was twice named first team All-MIAA as a feared linebacker in the middle of the Bearcats defense and led the team in tackles three times during his career. He ranks 2nd all-time in tackles with 441. Savard went on to spend some time in the NFL with the Dallas Cowboys and is now a prominent media member in the St. Louis areas as well as the radio voice of the St. Louis Rams.

Diane (Kloewer) Sprick (Women’s Basketball, 1981-1984) – (Kloewer) Sprick’s  633 points and average of 21.1 points per game in 1984 are the best single season marks in school history. Overall she finished 4th all-time in career points (1,489) and is one of only 16 players to accumulate 1,000+ points/500+ rebounds in her career (1,489 points/686 rebounds). The two-time first team all MIAA selection also excelled in the classroom being named a CoSIDA Academic All-American in 1984.

1984 Softball Team – This team captured the school’s first MIAA title in the sport of softball. They outscored their opponents 158-57 on their way to compiling a 23-14 overall record. The Bearcat pitchers gave opponents fits all season holding them to a measly .196 batting average and recording two no-hitters. After capturing the MIAA crown the team went on to compete in the NCAA Division II Regional in Nacogdoches, Texas. 

1992 Women’s Tennis Team – An undefeated 8-0 mark in the MIAA and a final record of 22-5 led to one of the most successful seasons in Bearcat Women’s Tennis history. The team featured three MIAA singles champions and one doubles team champion. The team combined for a school record 144 singles victories and accumulated the 4th most dual wins in a single season.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468