This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

June 12, 2012

8 individuals and 2 MIAA Championship teams to enter 2012 Hall of Fame

MARYVILLE, Mo. – Six outstanding former student-athletes, a pair of sports medicine icons and two MIAA Championship teams have been chosen for induction into the M-Club Hall of Fame this fall.

Two of the most productive football players during Northwest Missouri State’s football championship era, Tony Miles and Aaron Becker, will be inducted, along with their 1997 NCAA playoff team for the ceremony. The 1995 men’s tennis team will also take their place among the best Bearcat squads of all time.

Women’s tennis great Rosa Tapia, All-America cross country star Vernon Darling, standout offensive lineman Randy Euken and All-MIAA hoops star Rick Jolley will be enshrined as former student-athletes. Former Bearcat trainer D.C. Colt and recently retired Bearcat team physician Dr. Patrick Harr round out the 2012 Hall of Fame Class.

The Class of 2012 will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame during the annual festivities on Friday Nov. 2 in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom.

The 2012 class will bring the individual total to 111 and 42 teams. The M-Club Hall of Fame was established for individuals in 1980 and teams were first enshrined beginning in 1989.

Aaron Becker (Football, 1996-2000) – Becker finished his four-year career at Northwest as a two-time All-America selection and one of the most prolific defensive players in the championship era. He is third on the Northwest all-time list in tackles for a loss and eighth in sacks.  He was the Bearcats single season sack leader twice during his tenure.

He was a three-time First-Team All-MIAA pick on the defensive line helping Northwest to national championships in 1998 and 1999. The Bearcats were also MIAA Champions in each of Becker’s four-years at Northwest.

D.C. Colt (Athletic Trainer, 1981-2008) – Colt was the Bearcats’ head athletic trainer for 27 years, in addition to being a faculty member in Northwest’s Department of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.  During his tenure he provided care to thousands of student-athletes and mentored several graduate assistants that have gone on to careers in athletic training.  He became a certified athletic trainer in 1977 and has been inducted into four additional Halls of Fame (National Athletic Trainers’ Association Hall of Fame, Missouri Athletic Trainers’ Association Sports Medicine Hall of Fame, the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame and the Mid-America Athletic Trainers’ Association Hall of Fame).  Colt had been previously selected for admission into the Hall of Fame but chose to defer his enshrinement until the selection of Dr. Patrick Harr.

Vernon Darling (Men’s Cross Country/Track, 1975-79) - Darling was a three-time All-America selection in cross country and track and field for the Bearcats from 1975-79. He still holds Northwest records in the cross country 10k with a time of 30:55 and was a member of the record holding indoor distance medley relay team.

Darling captured the MIAA title in the one mile run and was also a two-time MIAA Champion in the 3000-meter steeplechase. His time in the 3000-meter steeplechase is second on the Northwest all-time list only behind Jim Ryan, who earned his spot in the Hall of Fame last year.

Randy Euken (Football, 1971-74) - Euken was a four-year starter on the offensive line and helped lead the Bearcats to two MIAA Championships in 1972 and 1974. He was a three-time All-MIAA First-Team selection at offensive tackle as he helped pave the way for Hall of Famer, Jim Albin, who rushed for more than 3,000 yards in his career.

Dr. Patrick Harr (Northwest Physician, 1974-2012) – Harr has provided pre-season physicals, medical care and evening clinic hours in the training room as well as a sideline presence at home and away athletic events at Northwest for the last 38 years.

In 1995 he was inducted into the Missouri Athletic Trainers’ Association Sports Medicine Hall of Fame and in 2001 was enshrined in the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame. During the 2010 season Harr covered his 1,000th game as a volunteer physician for Northwest and Maryville High teams and was honored as the Northwest Homecoming Parade Grand Marshal in 2011.

Rick Jolley (Men’s Basketball, 1994-96) - Jolley transferred from Penn State prior to the 1994 season and completed two and a half seasons before being declared ineligible for his participation in an exhibition game while at Penn State. He had helped lead the Bearcats to a share of the MIAA Regular Season title during the 1995-96 season with Missouri-Rolla before the title was vacated.

He twice earned All-MIAA accolades and led Northwest in scoring in 1995 and ’96. He also led the team in rebounding all three seasons. He is one of only 10 Bearcats to record over 1,000 points and 500 rebounds for his career and ranks in the top 10 of six categories on the Northwest all-time lists.

Tony Miles (Football, 1997-2000) - Miles enjoyed an outstanding four-year career at Northwest and was a member of the 1998 and 1999 National Championship teams. He currently ranks 10th in NCAA history in career punt return average and is second in MIAA and Northwest history in receiving yards.

As a senior, Miles earned his second All-America honor and was a three-time First Team All-MIAA receiver. He holds the record for most receiving yards in a regular season at Northwest and is third in career receptions and touchdown receptions.

Rosa Tapia (Women’s Tennis, 2001-04) - Tapia was a four-year tennis star earning MIAA MVP honors as a senior when she finished her career as the all-time leader in doubles wins with 85. She is second at Northwest in career wins (singles and doubles combined) with 159 and her 74 wins in singles action is tied for fifth on the all-time list.

Tapia helped lead the Bearcat women’s tennis teams to a 77-42 record during her four-year career which included two South Central Region Championships as a junior and senior. The 2003 squad led by Tapia finished 24-10 before falling in the National Quarterfinals.

1995 Men’s Tennis Team – One of the most decorated men’s tennis teams under head coach Mark Rosewell, the 1995 men’s tennis team finished ranked No. 11 in the nation with a 21-3 record. The Bearcats compiled the best single-season winning percentage in school history and claimed the first regional title in program history.

On their way to an MIAA championship, the Bearcats reeled off an 11-match winning streak and knocked off Division I opponent Oral Roberts. The team is the second consecutive Rosewell coached team to enter the Hall of Fame with last year’s 1997 women’s team and fourth overall.

1997 Football Team – The 1997 Bearcat football team is the third Mel Tjeerdsma coached team to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.  They were the first team to go undefeated in the MIAA under Tjeerdsma. Along with going 12-1 on the season the Bearcats string of 41 straight MIAA wins started during the ’97 season spanning until the 2001 season.

The Bearcats knocked off rival Pittsburg State in Pittsburg for the first time since the 1976 season. They advanced to the NCAA Division II playoffs where the team’s only loss came in the quarterfinals to eventual national champion Northern Colorado.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468