This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

June 3, 2010

Five Bearcats Selected to Inaugural MIAA Hall of Fame Class

From Left to Right: Henry Iba, Ryland Milner, Jack McCracken, Jim Redd

MARYVILLE, Mo.-Five of the most legendary Bearcats in the history of Northwest Missouri State athletics have been elected to the inaugural MIAA Hall of Fame class the conference office announced Wednesday. The Class of 2010, which includes 15 individuals and five teams, will be officially recognized at the annual MIAA Spring Awards Dinner June 10 at the Kansas City Mariott Hotel in downtown Kansas City, Mo.

Henry "Hank" Iba, Jack McCracken, Ryland Milner, Herschel Neil and Jim Redd will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for their achievements while at Northwest. They will be joined by five inductees from Central Missouri, two from Missouri S&T (formerly Missouri-Rolla), one each from Missouri Southern and Truman, and Ken B. Jones, the first commissioner of the MIAA.

In addition to the 15 individuals being honored, Central Missouri's 1937 and 1938 NAIB National Championship teams, Southeast Missouri State's 1943 NAIB National Championship squad and Southwest Missouri State's 1952 and 1953 NAIB National Championship teams will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Henry Iba

Iba was 93-15 in four seasons as the head men's basketball coach at Northwest from 1929-33. His teams won three MIAA Championships (1930, 1932, 1933), including a perfect 31-0 season in 1930. Iba would go on to win two NCAA championships as the head coach at Oklahoma State (1945, 1946).

Iba coached the USA Olympic basketball team in 1964, 1968 and 1972. He is the only coach in USA Olympic basketball history to win two gold medals (1964 in Tokyo; 1968 in Mexico City). The 1972 final resulted in a controversial loss to the Soviet Union breaking Team USA's 63-game win streak since basketball was introduced to the Olympics in 1936.

Iba was inducted into Northwest's "M" Club Hall of Fame in 1980 and was the first coach ever inducted. He was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1969 and the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame in 2007.

Jack McCracken

One of Iba's brightest stars on the hardwood was "Jumpin' Jack" McCracken who was named the AAU's All-Time Greatest Player. McCracken led his team to 43 consecutive wins including a perfect 31-0 record in 1929-30. McCracken was a two-time All-American at Northwest (1930, 1931) and an eight-time AAU All-American. He won AAU national titles in 1937, 1939 and 1942.

McCracken was the first athlete to be inducted into Northwest's "M" Club Hall of Fame, which came in 1980. He was enshrined into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1962 and into Colorado Sports Hall of Fame in 1968. There is a dormitory on Northwest's campus named in his honor.

Ryland Milner

Milner was a member of the Northwest athletic department for 42 years. As an athlete, he was part of Northwest's 1931 undefeated MIAA championship football team (9-0) and was a member of three MIAA basketball championship teams (1929-30 (31-0), 1931-32, 1932-33).

Milner spent time as the head coach of Northwest's football (1937-57), basketball (1943-50), track and field (1946-50), golf (1947-75) and cross country programs (1958-62). He won six MIAA championships with the football program and two with the track and field programs.

Milner was inducted into the Northwest "M" Club Hall of Fame in 1981 and into Missouri Sports Hall of Fame in 1989. The Milner Athletic Complex at Northwest is named in his honor.

Herschel Neil

Neil was an MIAA All-Conference performer all four years as a track and field standout for the Bearcats from 1934-37. He won 17 individual MIAA titles, set eight Northwest records in four years and won the NCAA triple jump championship in 1936-37. His NCAA record in the event stood until 1952.

Neil was inducted into Northwest's "M" Club Hall of Fame in 1982. The Herschel Neil Track at Northwest is named in his honor.

Jim Redd

Redd was a football player, football coach and Director of Athletics for Northwest from 1963-2001. As a player, Redd was an All-MIAA defensive lineman and offensive tackle. As a coach, he led Northwest to the 1979 MIAA championship and was named MIAA Coach of the Year. He served as Director of Athletics from 1993-2001.

As Director of Athletics, Redd spearheaded a number of facility upgrades including improvements to the football stadium, Herschel Neil Track, a new softball field and soccer pitch, tennis courts and Lamkin Activity Center including Bearcat Arena.

Redd was inducted into Northwest's "M" Club Hall of Fame in 2002. He was inducted into Missouri Sports Hall of Fame in 2008.

MIAA Hall of Fame Class
Henry Iba, Northwest
Jack McCracken, Northwest
Ryland Milner, Northwest
Herschel Neil, Northwest
Jim Redd, Northwest
Dr. Forrest "Phog" Allen, Central Missouri
Kathy Anderson, Central Missouri
Dr. Mildred "Millie" Barnes, Central Missouri
Vernon Kennedy, Central Missouri
Earl Keth, Central Missouri
Charlie Finley, Missouri S&T
Billy Key, Missouri S&T
Sallie Beard, Missouri Southern
Harry Gallatin, Truman
Ken B. Jones, MIAA

Central Missouri 1937 Basketball Team
Central Missouri 1938 Basketball Team
Southeast Missouri State 1943 Basketball Team
Southwest Missouri State 1952 Team
Southwest Missouri State 1953 Team

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468