This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

Faculty Awards

Faculty Excellence Awards

The Faculty Excellence Award Program recognizes superior faculty performance in each of the three traditional areas of academic responsibility: teaching, research and service.  A faculty member from the College of Arts & Sciences and a faculty member from the six professional schools are selected from nominations for each of the three categories.  All full-time faculty holding a board-approved appointment in the University are eligible for the awards.

2017-18 Award Recipients

Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Denise Case Assistant Professor School of Computer Science & Info Systems
Dr. Katy Strickland Assistant Professor Fine and Performing Arts

Excellence in Research

Dr. Jawad Sadek Professor Mathematics and Statistics
Dr. Tyler Tapps Assistant Professor School of Health Science and Wellness

Excellence in Service

Dr. Jim Eiswert Professor Humanities and Social Sciences
Jacqueline Lacy Instructor School of Agricultural Sciences


Governor's Award for Excellence in Education

The Governor's Award for Excellence in Education is presented annually to an outstanding faculty member from each of Missouri's four-year higher education institutions. Recipients are selected based on several criteria: effective teaching, effective advising, service to the university community, commitment to high standards of excellence, and success in nurturing student achievement. Northwest's winner is announced in the fall and receives the award at a reception in Jefferson City the following spring.

2018 Governor's Award Recipient

Dr. Katy Strickland, an assistant professor of music, is the university’s recipient of the 2018 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Education.

Read more.