This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Sept. 12, 2016

Northwest to celebrate launch of professional schools with ribbon-cutting

Northwest Missouri State University will commemorate the opening of five professional schools this fall with a ribbon-cutting ceremony and open houses Thursday, Sept. 15.

The program will begin at 3:30 p.m. at the Memorial Bell Tower and feature remarks by Northwest President Dr. John Jasinski, Provost Dr. Timothy Mottet and Board of Regent Chair Dr. Pat Harr.

Academic halls housing each professional school will be open for tours after the ceremony. The new schools and their locations are listed below.

The ceremony ushers in a new academic structure and focus on profession-based learning at Northwest that Mottet announced last spring. Professional schools, Mottet explains, represent academic units closely aligned with a profession, while academic departments contain broader disciplines.

“This restructuring flattens the organization and empowers academic units to develop new and innovative academic programming and to be more connected to the organizations who hire our graduates,” Mottet said at that time. “It’s allowing us to be more nimble and interdisciplinary, which both students and faculty are requesting.”

Plans for the reorganization developed after a successful pilot program in 2015 involving the three academic departments – agricultural sciences, business, and communication and mass media – within the former Booth College of Business and Professional Studies.

The pilot’s success also prompted academic leaders to rethink Northwest’s former Department of Health and Human Services, which had been based in the College of Education and Human Services. That initiative led to the development of a new, free-standing, multi-disciplinary School of Health Science and Wellness, which the University launched during the fall of 2015, officially making it Northwest’s first professional school.

Last spring, Northwest concluded the pilot program, dissolving the Booth College and College of Education and Human Services and transitioning academic departments within both colleges to professional schools. The computer science unit, which had been housed within the College of Arts and Sciences and operated with mathematics programming, also was restructured to form the sixth professional school.

Northwest retained its College of Arts and Sciences, which now houses the departments of English and Modern Languages, Fine and Performing Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, and Natural Sciences.

For more information, including a complete listing of academic programs at Northwest, visit

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468