This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

Faculty/Staff Spotlight

Sept. 8, 2015

Diana Linville is 2016 Governor’s Award for Excellence recipient

Diana Linville, pictured with Northwest Provost Dr. Timothy Mottet (left) and President Dr. John Jasinski (right), is Northwest's recipient of the 2016 Governor's Award for Excellence in Education.

Diana Linville, pictured with Northwest Provost Dr. Timothy Mottet (left) and President Dr. John Jasinski (right), is Northwest's recipient of the 2016 Governor's Award for Excellence in Education.

2015 Dean's Faculty Award recipients


Governor's Award for Excellence in Education recipients from Northwest

1992: Betty Bush
1993: Ben Collier
1994: Peggy Miller
1995: Pat Lucido                
1996: Laura Widmer         
1997: Cheryl Malm            
1998: Ernest Woodruff     
1999: Pat McLaughlin       
2000: Terry Robertson      
2001: Jim Eiswert               
2002: Jody Strauch            
2003: Suzanne Frucht        
2004: Carla Edwards         
2005: Steve Shively             
2006: No award given
2007: Jason White              
2008: Terry Coalter                       
2009: Margaret Drew
2010: Amanda Petefish-Schrag
2011: April Haberyan
2012: Carol Spradling
2013: Joe Kreizinger
2014: Rick Toomey
2015: Sue Myllykangas

Diana Linville, an instructor in Northwest Missouri State University’s Department of Mathematics Computer Science and Information Systems, is the University’s recipient of the 2016 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Education.

Northwest made the announcement today during a ceremony recognizing the University’s 10 Dean’s Faculty Award recipients.

“These faculty members represent some of Northwest Missouri State’s very best,” Northwest Provost Dr. Timothy Mottet said during opening remarks, noting Dean’s Faculty Award recipients are nominated and selected by their peers. “Whether we are recognizing these individuals for their teaching, their scholarship, their leadership, service or advising, we are recognizing them for being incredible teachers.”

The Governor’s Award is presented annually to an outstanding faculty member from each of Missouri’s four-year higher education institutions. The Northwest recipient is selected by its Deans Council from individuals who receive the Dean’s Faculty Award for Teaching in each of the University’s three academic colleges. Criteria includes effective teaching, effective advising, service to the University community, commitment to high standards of excellence, and success in nurturing student achievements.

Linville, who joined the Northwest faculty in 2001, received the Dean’s Faculty Award for Teaching in the College of Arts and Sciences and will receive the Governor’s Award during a state ceremony next spring.

“I’m very humbled and honored to receive this award,” she said. “I work with some phenomenal coworkers. I couldn’t do any of this without them.”

Linville’s nomination praised her as being highly respected by both faculty and students for her teaching abilities and her work ethic. She takes courses to improve her understanding and skills so she can teach higher-level courses than those for which she was originally hired. Her sections are the first to fill, and she spends countless hours in her office offering help to students.

She is the curriculum coordinator for the three courses that form the foundation of undergraduate computing. She is a master at documenting the content of Northwest courses and then delivering consistent curriculum to the dual credit programs. She also hires almost all the teaching assistants for the courses and trains these students to assist in the classroom.

“She is a kind and caring person who cares very much about the success of her students,” one of her former teaching assistants said. “She was available to lend a helping hand or listen when I was struggling with homework or something personal. She helped make the transition to college and the professional world much easier with her advice. I would not have had the success I have had without having Diana as a teacher, supervisor and mentor.

Another former student said, “After having numerous classes with Diana and working for her as one of her teaching assistants I can confirm that Diana is dedicated to the success of a better person, both academically and personally, as I was taught to reach out to others in need just as she does. I find it challenging to put into words the passion and drive Diana has shown me she has for her work while I was in school.”

Additionally, Linville has developed dual credit course websites for programming languages and recruited schools that will be offering dual credit next year. She presented a teaching unit about Scribbler Robots at Northland CAPS and is participating in a group that will develop a dual credit course, Foundations of Computer, to be offered at Northland CAPS next year. She has participated in curriculum development at Horace Mann Laboratory School and developed units on Scratch Jr., which Horace Mann instructors and parents may use. She developed AppInventor curriculum for a Google CS4HS grant; the material was used in a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC), and the curriculum was used by K-12 teachers. 

In addition to attending a luncheon hosted by the governor next spring, Linville receives checks for $500 from the University and $800 from the College of Arts and Sciences to further her professional development.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468