This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Jan. 29, 2015

Alumni Association accepting nominations for annual awards

By Erin Dillon, media relations assistant

The Northwest Missouri State University Alumni Association is seeking nominations for individuals to be honored at its annual awards program next fall. The awards are annually presented to alumni, faculty and friends of the University who have demonstrated professional achievement or extraordinary dedication to Northwest.

“Each year, the Bearcat community anticipates the opportunity to honor the remarkable alumni and friends who represent Northwest Missouri State University,” said Bob Machovsky, director of alumni relations and annual giving at the University. “The alumni awards program is a special event where we celebrate the leadership and dedication of our distinguished honorees whose accomplishments reflect their talents and the excellence of Northwest.”

The deadline to submit nominations is Sunday, March 1. Nomination forms and past recipients are available at

Nominees are being sought for the following categories:

Distinguished Alumni Award: Recognizes Northwest alumni for their exceptional professional and personal achievement and extraordinary distinction in their chosen field.

Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award: Recognizes a former faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.

Distinguished Faculty Award: Recognizes a present faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.

Honorary Alumni Award: Honors Northwest friends who have served, promoted and loved the University in the tradition of a loyal graduate.

Turret Service Award: Acknowledges a graduate or former student for his or her significant contributions of time and talents on behalf of the University and the Northwest Alumni Association.

Young Alumni Award: Honors a graduate of the last decade for his or her exceptional achievements in career, public service or volunteerism that bring honor to the University.

Public Service Award: Recognizes an outstanding service-minded individual who has devoted his or her time and energy for the betterment of northwest Missouri and higher education

Last year’s recipients were Brig. Gen. Christopher Hughes (Distinguished Alumni Award), Brad Elliott (Young Alumni Award), Dr. Ben Blackford (Distinguished Faculty Award), Steve Bratt (Honorary Alumni Award), Dr. Betty Bush and Dr. Robert “Bob” Bush (Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award), Ken Scribner (Turret Service Award) and Mike Thomson (Public Service Award).

The 2015 Alumni Awards Banquet is Friday, Sept. 25, in conjunction with Family Weekend, in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom on the Northwest campus. The event begins with a social at 6 p.m., dinner at 6:45 p.m. and the awards presentation at 8 p.m.

For more information, contact the Northwest Alumni Association at or 660.562.1248.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468