This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

July 24, 2014

Northwest Foundation board adds 15 new members

The Northwest Missouri State University Foundation Board welcomed 15 new members during its summer meeting on the University campus July 10-11.

The Northwest Foundation, a 501(c) 3 not-for-profit corporation, is responsible for receiving, investing, stewarding and disbursing private support on behalf of the donors of Northwest for the benefit of the University, its students, faculty, staff and alumni.

The 2014-2015 Foundation Board is led by President Mark Doll ’80, of Des Moines, Iowa; Vice President Arnold Johnson ’77, of Houston, Texas; and Immediate Past President Holly Murphy-Barstow ’81, of Omaha, Neb. Board members may serve up to two three-year terms.

The Foundation, governed by a 30-member volunteer board, is staffed by members of Northwest’s Office of University Advancement. It has about 6,800 donors and awarded over 1,000 scholarships last year, with an average value of $641 per student.

“We are excited to welcome such a large, talented and diverse group of board members to the Northwest Foundation,” Vice President of University Advancement Mike Johnson said. “This class exemplifies a wealth of leadership, passion and philanthropic partnership that will strengthen our financial position in growing private support to Northwest Missouri State University. The sky is the limit in what these individual alumni donors are capable of in inspiring themselves and others to invest in our future.”

The Foundation’s new members and their affiliations are listed below. For more information about the Northwest Foundation, visit

Robert Burrell

Dr. Robert (Bob) Burrell ’70
Executive vice president, Cardtronics
Denver, Colo.

John Cline

John Cline ’75
Owner, Cline Wood Agency
Overland Park, Kan.

Karen Daniel

Karen Daniel ’80
Finance division and inframanagement group president and chief financial officer,
Black & Veatch
Overland Park, Kan.

Ken DeBaene

Ken DeBaene ’81
Supervisor of sales, Matrix Inc.
Long Branch, N.J.

Myra Evans

Myra Evans ’77
Former chief executive officer,
Community Hospital Association
Tarkio, Mo.

Mike Faust

Mike Faust '74
Assistant to chairman, Peter Kiewit Sons' Inc
Omaha, Neb.

Lisa Lehnus

Lisa Lehnus ’83
Director of retirement plan operations,
Trust Company of America
Highlands Ranch, Colo.

Jerry Hagg

Jerry Hagg, attended 1963-1965
Retired as president and co-chief executive officer, Platte Valley Bank of Missouri
Dearborn, Mo.

Carl Hughes

Carl Hughes ’76
Retired as senior vice president of Inergy
Kansas City, Mo.

Paul Jennings

Paul Jennings ’75
Certified public accountant and financial planning president, Financial Decisions Group
West Des Moines, Iowa

Marilou Joyner

Dr. Marilou Joyner ’75 ’78 ’82
Owner and chief executive officer,
Cameron Group Care Inc.
Kansas City, Mo.

Jayma Sandquist

Jayma Sandquist ’90
Vice president of marketing,
John Deere Financial
Indianola, Iowa

Kory Schramm

Kory Schramm ’95
Manager of sales operations, ITA Group
Johnston, Iowa

Brad Stephens

W. Brad Stephens ’96
Senior financial services representative,
Principal Financial Group
Butler, Mo.

Stam Zeamer

Stanley (Stan) Zeamer ’70
President and owner,
Utility/Keystone Trailer Sales Inc.
Huntingdon, Pa.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468