This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Jan. 30, 2014

Nominations sought for 2014 Northwest Alumni Awards

The Northwest Missouri State University Alumni Association is seeking nominations for individuals to be honored at its annual awards program. The awards are annually presented to alumni, faculty and friends of the University who have demonstrated professional achievement or extraordinary dedication to Northwest.

“Every year we come together to recognize outstanding achievements of exceptional contributions made by alumni and friends of Northwest Missouri State University, and the accomplishments set by these outstanding recipients allows for the Northwest community to celebrate those who have shown exemplary service to their respected program, profession or community,” said Bob Machovsky, interim director of alumni relations and annual gifts at Northwest.

The deadline to submit nominations is Saturday, March 1. Nomination forms and listings of past recipients are available at

Nominees are being sought for the following categories:

Distinguished Alumni Award: Recognizes Northwest alumni for their exceptional professional and personal achievement and extraordinary distinction in their chosen field.

Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award: Recognizes a former faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.

Distinguished Faculty Award: Recognizes a present faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.

Honorary Alumni Award: Honors Northwest friends who have served, promoted and loved the University in the tradition of a loyal graduate.

Turret Service Award: Acknowledges a graduate or former student for his or her significant contributions of time and talents on behalf of the University and the Northwest Alumni Association.

Young Alumni Award: Honors a graduate of the last decade for his or her exceptional achievements in career, public service or volunteerism that bring honor to the University.

Last year’s recipients were Dr. Al Cade (Distinguished Alumni Award), Keaton Guess (Young Alumni Award), Dr. Aaron Johnson (Distinguished Faculty Award), Cindy Pickerel (Honorary Alumni Award), Al Sergel (Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award) and Dr. Wayne Woolsey (Turret Service Award).

This year’s Alumni Awards Banquet is Friday, Sept. 19, in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom on the Northwest campus. The event begins with a social at 6 p.m., dinner at 6:45 p.m. and the awards presentation at 8 p.m.

For more information, contact the Northwest Alumni Association at or 660.562.1248.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468