This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Nov. 22, 2013

Northwest announces finalists for College of Arts and Sciences dean

Updated Nov. 26, 2013

A search committee at Northwest Missouri State University has invited finalists to visit the campus during the week of Dec. 2-6 and interview to be the University’s next dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Candidates will meet with a variety of stakeholders, in addition to taking brief tours of the campus and College of Arts and Sciences’ facilities. Faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences are invited to meet with the finalists from 3:30 to 4:30 p.m. in the J.W. Jones Student Union Boardroom. An open forum with the finalists, for all members of the Northwest community, will be 4:30 to 5:15 p.m. in the Student Union Boardroom. 

The dates for these meetings are as follows:

A third finalist announced previously, Dr. Scott Carnicom, has withdrawn his name because he accepted another position.

The next dean will succeed Dr. Charles McAdams, who resigned from Northwest this fall to become provost and vice president for academic affairs at Delta State University in Cleveland, Miss.

Northwest Provost Dr. Doug Dunham has appointed Dr. Phil Heeler, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Information Systems, as the interim dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

“I appreciate Dr. Heeler’s willingness to serve his colleagues in this capacity, and I know he will provide excellent leadership,” Dunham said.

Dunham also expressed appreciation to the search committee, chaired by Dr. Leslie Galbreath, dean of Academic and Library Services. Committee members are Heeler; Dr. Jerry Barnett, professor in the Department of Behavioral Sciences; Dr. Matt Symonds, associate professor and chair of the Department of Health and Human Services; Dr. Himadri Chakroborty, associate professor in the Department of Natural Sciences; Dr. Jody Strauch, Faculty Senate president-elect and assistant professor in the Department of Communication and Mass Media; Dr. Elyssa Ford, assistant professor in the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences; Jeaneth Puriel-Foot, Study Abroad coordinator; Kelli French, executive secretary for the College of Arts and Sciences; Cody Uhing, Student Senate president; and Nola Bond, vice president of Human Resources.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468