This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

June 13, 2013

Northwest awards scholarships to 5 southwest Iowa students

Northwest Missouri State University is proud to announce it has awarded scholarships to five southwest Iowa residents who are attending the University as freshmen in the fall.

Northwest awarded the Michael L. Faust Scholarship to Bryson West, of Atlantic; Jacob Petersen and Elizabeth Wede, of Audubon; and Angelica May, of Riverton.

Additionally, Northwest awarded its C. Lee Butler Scholarship to Hannah Marie Ankenbauer, of Messena, Iowa.

“Northwest is pleased to recognize these students with scholarships in an effort to assist with their goals of attaining a college degree,” said Mike Johnson, Northwest’s vice president of university advancement. “Education has had an important impact in both Michael’s and C. Lee’s lives, and the scholarships in their names ensure other students will experience the advantages of attending college.” 

The Michael L. Faust Scholarship is awarded annually to incoming freshmen who are graduates of Atlantic High School, with need and academic merit considerations. Faust, an Atlantic native and 1974 Northwest alumnus, is the assistant to the president of the Kiewit Corporation, a large construction and mining firm based in Omaha, Neb. He also manages the Kiewit Companies Foundation and leads the company’s community and political relations programs.

The C. Lee Butler Scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate or transfer student at Northwest. Academic achievement and financial need are leading criteria with preference given to students who are graduates of high schools in Cass County, Iowa. Butler was a proud resident of Atlantic and operated a successful insurance business for many years. Several members of Butler’s family also received degrees from Northwest and are thrilled that a scholarship in his name is allowing others to follow their path.    

For more information about the Michael L. Faust Scholarship or the C. Lee Butler Scholarship or to make a tax-deductible gift to benefit the University, contact Northwest’s Office of University Advancement at 660.562.1248.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468