This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

April 9, 2013

Jasinski appointed chairperson of panel of judges for Baldrige Program for Performance Excellence

Dr. John Jasinski

Dr. John Jasinski

Rebecca Blank, deputy secretary of commerce in the U.S. Department of Commerce, has appointed Dr. John Jasinski, president of Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville, Mo., to serve as chairperson of the panel of judges for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation's highest honor for organizational performance excellence.

The Baldrige Program for Performance Excellence, which is celebrating its 25th anniversary this week, is the nation's leading public-private partnership dedicated to performance excellence.

“The Baldrige Performance Excellence Program is the pinnacle in helping organizations excel, and I am deeply proud of my association with the program,” Jasinski said. “It is a high honor to serve our country in the name of competitiveness, and never has the program been so important to our nation.”

All applicants for the Baldrige National Quality Award are evaluated rigorously by an independent board of examiners. Based on these assessments, applicants are chosen for an on-site visit by a team of examiners to clarify questions and verify information in their applications.

Jasinski initially was appointed in April 2011 as a judge, a role in which he serves alongside 11 other leading experts selected from all sectors, including manufacturing, service, small business, education, health care and nonprofits. The panel of judges selects the applicants that receive site visits and, ultimately, which applicants are recommended to the Secretary of Commerce as award recipients. He will serve a one-year term as chairperson.

"It is humbling to be appointed as chair and serve with such an esteemed national group of experts committed to performance excellence,” Jasinski said. “The roots of performance excellence are strong in northwest Missouri and throughout our state and region, and I look forward to helping facilitate the work of the panel of judges.”

Jasinski became Northwest’s 10th president July 1, 2009. He serves as vice chair of the Council on Public Higher Education (COPHE), which is composed of the presidents and chancellors of four-year public higher education institutions in Missouri. Additionally, Jasinski serves on the St. Francis Hospital and Health Services Board of Directors and the Heartland Foundation Board of Trustees. He also chairs the American Association of State Colleges and Universities' (ASSCU) Professional Development Planning Committee and serves as a member of AASCU’s Membership Retention and Recruitment Committee and Rural Coalition Committee.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987. Awards may be given annually to organizations in each of six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, health care and nonprofit. The Award promotes excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies. Since 1988, 87 organizations have received Baldrige Awards. The Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) manages the Baldrige Award in close conjunction with the private sector. Further information on the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program and the Baldrige Award is available at

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468