This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

March 15, 2013

Northwest announces faculty promotions, tenure appointments

Northwest Missouri State University has announced the promotions of nine faculty members and tenure appointments for five faculty, effective next fall.

“The promotion and tenure process is probably one of the most important and rewarding duties of the provost,” Northwest Provost Dr. Doug Dunham said. “It is always an honor to review the applications of these candidates. Both individually and collectively, these faculty are representative of the excellent faculty at Northwest, and it is my pleasure to be able to congratulate them on their achievement.”

Dunham thanked faculty who served on the Advisory Committee for Rank and Promotion. Those individuals were professors Dr. Robert Dewhirst, Dr. Margaret Drew, Dr. Kurt Haberyan, Dr. Bayo Oludaja, Dr. Janet Reusser, Dr. Theo Ross, Dr. Jim Walker and Dr. Nancy Zeliff.

The promotion and tenure applications were approved by the Board of Regents during its March 14 meeting. Faculty receiving promotions and tenure, effective during the 2013-2014 academic year, are listed below. 

Promotions to full professor


Promotions to associate professor




Northwest’s Faculty Handbook criteria for ranked faculty

The Faculty Handbook notes promotion and tenure reviews are two separate, albeit related, processes. For both tenure and promotion, the faculty member is evaluated in the same four categories: teaching, scholarship, student support and service. A University-level faculty advisory committee is used in the promotion review process. When considering a promotion application, only the activities and accomplishments since last promotion are considered, whereas a tenure application considers the applicant's cumulative record.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468