This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Nov. 8, 2012

Northwest computing students compete in programming contest

Northwest Missouri State University students placed high at the International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) Mid-Central Regional Nov. 3.

The contest involved 156 teams from 67 schools participating at nine different sites in the Midwest. Northwest fielded two teams of three students each and competed against teams that included University of Central Missouri, Park University and the University of Missouri-Kansas City on the Central Missouri campus.

The ICPC, sponsored by IBM, runs five hours and teams receive eight programming questions to solve. Teams are judged on the number of questions they answer and how long it takes to answer them. Teams submit their solutions electronically, and their programs are run against input they have not seen.  

“This is where a big part of the challenge comes in – they know their programs work with the sample input included in the question write-up, but when they submit it they may get the dreaded ‘wrong answer’ response, with no other feedback indicating where they went astray,” said Dr. Michael Rogers, assistant professor of computer science and information systems.

Rogers and Dr. David Monismith, assistant professor of computer science and information systems, serve as coaches of the Northwest teams.

Teams may submit their solutions as many times as they want, but they incur a 20-minute penalty for each incorrect submission.

A team of Northwest graduate students, the Northwest Missouri Codesters, ranked 106th, answering two questions. A team of undergraduate students, Northwest Missouri SF0, fared better, answering four questions and ranked 60th.

“This was an excellent showing, especially since this was the first time any of the students had participated in such a contest,” Rogers said.

The Northwest students who competed were Connor Douthat, Abhyudaya Gurram, Duncan Kelly, Bala Matta, Jayde Moran and Santhosh Palla.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468