This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

June 12, 2012

Earth sciences honor society earns Quality Chapter Award

Northwest Missouri State University’s Epsilon Theta chapter of Sigma Gamma Epsilon, the national honor society for the Earth sciences, has received a 2012 Quality Chapter Award for its work during the 2011-2012 academic year. 

The award represents the highest distinction a chapter may earn and requires that recipients “provide a quality experience for their members.” The chapter must meet all fiduciary and membership responsibilities, provide initiation events bi-annually and engage in a service project that benefits others on its campus or in the community. 

In a letter to the chapter, James Walter, president of the national organization, wrote, “We consider the Epsilon Theta chapter to be exemplary and are pleased to recognize your efforts with a 2012 Quality Chapter Award.”

Dr. Aaron Johnson, Epsilon Theta chapter advisor and assistant professor of geosciences, also noted that earning a Quality Chapter Award is a prestigious accomplishment. There are more than 150 chapters at colleges and universities across the country and only one chapter, Eastern Illinois University, received the award for the 2010-2011 academic year. 

During 2011-2012, the Epsilon Theta chapter initiated 15 members, bringing its total membership to 26 students. Members were initiated in the fall and spring.

The Epsilon Theta chapter also hosted two events during the year. In the fall, it hosted “Mock the Movie Night,” which attracted about 100 scientists and non-scientists who were invited to The Hangar to watch and mock “2012,” a 2009 adventure film about a global cataclysm starring John Cusack.

In the spring, the chapter worked with Girl Scout Troop No. 8307, based at Northwest’s Horace Mann Laboratory School, to provide an opportunity for the Girl Scouts to earn science badges. Girl Scouts ranging in age from 6 to 13 completed numerous science activities and brought cans of food for admission to the event. More than 90 girls earned 117 science badges and more than 100 cans and boxes of food were donated to the Second Harvest Food Bank in St. Joseph. 

Epsilon Theta chapter officers for 2011-2012 were Lonnie Treese, president; Nikki Sauter, vice president-historian; Kellie Tinkham, corresponding secretary-editor; and Nicholas Anderson, secretary-treasurer. 

Members of the Epsilon Theta chapter also include Erin Swan, James Foltz, Brian Hunter, Chris Lewis, Travis Doughty, Jessica Walter, Ben Eschbach, Amanda Flavin, Chelsea, Bulen, Josh Chambers, Chris Hooyboer, Tim Janousek, Kristina Watts, Kaleb Brumbaugh, Wade Young, Coday Nichols, Deanna Mandrick, Justin White, Billy Hodge, Jessica Hill, Dennae Moore, Matt Smith and Jon Clark.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468