This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Jan. 18, 2012

Nominations sought for 2012 Northwest Alumni Awards

The Northwest Missouri State University Alumni Association is seeking nominations for individuals to be honored at its annual awards program. The awards are annually presented to alumni, faculty and friends of the University who have demonstrated professional achievement or extraordinary dedication to Northwest.

“It is indeed an honor for the Northwest Alumni Association to each year publicly recognize some of the many talented and deserving Northwest alumni and friends who have and are accomplishing such great things in their lives,” said Steve Sutton, director of alumni relations.

Nominations, which must be received by Monday, March 15, are being accepted in the following categories:

Distinguished Alumni Award: Recognizes Northwest alumni for their exceptional professional and personal achievement and extraordinary distinction in their chosen field.

Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award: Recognizes a former faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.

Distinguished Faculty Award: Recognizes a present faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.

Honorary Alumni Award: Honors Northwest friends who have served, promoted and loved the University in the tradition of a loyal graduate.

Turret Service Award: Acknowledges a graduate or former student for his or her significant contributions of time and talents on behalf of the University and the Northwest Alumni Association.

Young Alumni Award: Honors a graduate of the last decade for his or her exceptional achievements in career, public service or volunteerism that bring honor to the University.

Nomination forms are available by clicking here and at the Alumni House.

Last year’s recipients were Dr. John Baker (Distinguished Faculty), Jim Blackford (Turret Service Award), Kevin Fullerton (Distinguished Alumni), Allison Kreifels (Young Alumni), Doug Sutton (Honorary Alumni), Dorothy Walker (Distinguished Faculty Emeritus) and Dr. Conrad Woolsey (Young Alumni).

This year’s Alumni Awards Banquet is Friday, Sept. 28, in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom on the Northwest campus.

For more information, contact the Northwest Alumni Association at or 660.562.1248.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468