This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Dean's Award ceremony

Provost Dr. Doug Dunham is addressed a crowd of Northwest Missouri State University employees and students gathered Friday afternoon during a ceremony to recognize the University's 2010 Dean's Faculty Award Winners and unveil a new display at the Administration Building. (Photo by Taylor Allan/University Advancement)

Dec. 10, 2010

Northwest honors Dean’s Award recipients, unveils wall display

MARYVILLE, Mo. - Northwest Missouri State University recognized its 2010 Dean's Faculty Award Winners and its 2011 Governor's Award for Excellence in Education recipient Friday during a brief ceremony that included the unveiling of a wall display in the first floor corridor of the University's historic Administration Building.

"Our Northwest family is deeply rooted in our dedication to academic excellence," Provost Dr. Doug Dunham said. "Because of the work of these educators, we just set that benchmark higher. And I'm here to tell you, this happens every day. We have committed faculty and staff striving to increase our level of excellence each and every day in the classroom, on campus and elsewhere, to ensure a comprehensive, exceptional student experience."

The new display outside the provost and president offices in the Administration Building's east wing features portraits of each of this year's Dean's Faculty Award Winners and a plaque that displays each of the University's Governor's Award for Excellence recipients, dating back to 1995. The University's mission statement, "We focus on student success - every student, every day," appears above the portraits.

"When we make student success our No. 1 priority, we as an institution have success as well," Dunham said. "They go hand in hand. And awards such as the Governor's Award for Excellence in Education and our Dean's Awards are prime examples of how we can acknowledge success as a Northwest family."

Last month, the University announced Dr. April Haberyan, associate professor of psychology, sociology and counseling, as Northwest's recipient of the Governor's Award for Excellence. The award is presented annually to an outstanding faculty member from each of Missouri's four-year higher education institutions. She will receive the Governor's Award during a spring ceremony in Jefferson City.

Each of the University's three colleges announced their Dean's Faculty Award winners earlier this fall. The Dean's Faculty Award Program recognizes superior faculty performance in each of the three traditional areas of academic responsibility: teaching, research and service. All full-time faculty holding a board-approved appointment in the University are eligible for the awards.

In the College of Arts and Sciences, recipients were Dr. Ahmed Malkawi, associate professor of chemistry and physics; Armin Mühsam, associate professor of art; and Dr. Richard Toomey, associate professor of chemistry and physics.

In the College of Education and Human Services, recipients, in addition to Haberyan, were, Carol Tjeerdsma, instructor of curriculum and instruction, and Dr. Rheba Vetter, associate professor of health, physical education, recreation and dance.

In the Booth College of Business and Professional Studies, recipients were, Deb Toomey, instructor of marketing and management; Cindy Kenkel, assistant professor of marketing and management; Dr. Carol Spradling, associate professor of computer science and information systems; and Allison Hoffmann, instructor of marketing and management.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468