This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

June 14, 2010

Friends, family celebrate late Horace Mann teacher, launch Joann Stamm Marion Fund

MARYVILLE, Mo. - Friends and family of the late Joann Stamm Marion came together once more today to celebrate the Horace Mann teacher's legacy and kick off a fund drive in her honor.

Friends and family gathered this afternoon at the home of Mrs. Marion's widower, Dr. Marvin Marion, to launch the effort by the Friends of JoAnn Marion and mark the creation of the JoAnn Stamm Marion Fund.

Marion taught for 44 years, including 37 years, from 1967 until her retirement in 2005, at Horace Mann Laboratory School on the Northwest Missouri State campus.

The JoAnn Stamm Marion Fund is an initiative that will express the love, admiration, gratitude and appreciation for her years of service. The fund will support the students and teachers of Horace Mann as well as Northwest students who share her vision and passion for education.

Max Ruhl, dean of the College of Education and Human Services said the goals of the fund are to generate funding to provide technology and literacy-based improvements at Horace Mann and showcase a display cabinet inside Horace Mann that will house Marion's personal collection of teaching materials. Friends also hope the effort will lead to a Horace Mann room being named in her honor.

"The friends of Mrs. Marion want to both honor her and perpetuate the work for which she gave the full measure of devotion," Ruhl said.

In order to meet its goals, the JoAnn Stamm Marion Fund needs a number of contributors at these levels:

The "Friends of JoAnn Marion" planning team consists of Tammy Adam, Dr. Betty Bush, Dr. Barbara Crossland, Nancy Farlow, Jill Hardin, Dr. Arnold Lindaman, Michelle Link-Drey, Dr. Peggy Miller, Dr. Joyce Piveral, Dr. Max Ruhl, Larry Rusco, Jeanie Schmidt, RoAnne Solheim, Lynette Tappmeyer, Andrea Wagner, Sue-ann Westoff.

To contribute, individuals can donate by check or credit card, or issue a five-year pledge. All gifts are tax deductible as allowed by law.

Earlier this year, the JoAnn Marion Memorial Scholarship also was established as a result of memorial contributions in her honor. The scholarship will be awarded to a senior at Northwest who majors in elementary education and desires to teach first or second grade.

For more information contact Andrea Wagner at or (660) 562-1248.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468