This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

May 5, 2010

Two Missouri Academy students selected as 2010 Missouri Scholars 100

MARYVILLE, Mo. - Second-year Missouri Academy students Clayton Buback and Aurora Peck were honored recently as 2010 Missouri Scholars 100, a statewide program that honors 100 of Missouri's top academic students in the graduating class of 2010.

Buback is from St. Charles, Mo., and Peck is from Raytown, Mo. In addition, Yvette Odu, of Kansas City, Mo., received an honorable mention. The students were recognized on April 25 during a luncheon at the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Columbia.

"The Missouri Scholars 100 is a significant award that recognizes that our students are not only engaged in academic studies at the highest level, but also that these students are involved in leadership, research and community service activities," said Dr. Cleo Samudzi, principal at Missouri Academy of Science, Mathematics & Computing. "While Clayton Buback and Aurora Peck certainly deserve all the accolades that go with this award, students who complete the Missouri Academy program deserve similar recognition for their accomplishments."

Missouri Scholars 100 is a program sponsored by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP). Schools across Missouri are invited to nominate candidates who meet criteria of an "Academic Decathlon," which includes 10 events designed to assure the academic strength of the student. The student also must have a minimum GPA of 3.750, a minimum ACT score of 29 or a minimum SAT score of 1,900, be ranked in the upper 10 percent of his or her class, and have taken upper level courses in mathematics, science, English and foreign language. The student must have excellent attendance, be an exemplary school citizen and be involved in school activities.

"Students who are selected to this program have taken a rigorous course of study and have maintained the highest academic standards," said Jim L. King, executive director of MASSP, said. "The Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals wants to celebrate the achievement and success of these students and their schools."

The Missouri Academy of Science, Mathematics and Computing, which is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, is an early-entrance-to-college, two-year residential program, located on the campus of Northwest Missouri State. Students attend the Missouri Academy for two years, replacing the junior and senior years of traditional high school. While at the Missouri Academy, students are enrolled in a curriculum consisting of college coursework taught by Northwest professors. Upon successful completion, students earn an associate of science degree and a high school diploma. The Missouri Academy gives high-performing and exceptional students an opportunity to live, socialize and study in a learning community of peers.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468