This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

TKE alumni

TKE alumni Steve Moss ('87), Darwin Rold ('73), Ron Woolsey ('74), Bruce Barlow ('75), Merle Jones ('73), John Newberry (attd. '68-'74) and Dick Westbrook ('76) returned to campus in November to advance two TKE scholarship funds. (PHOTO BY DARREN WHITLEY/UNIVERSITY RELATIONS)

May 4, 2010

Fraternity's alumni commit to two scholarships

MARYVILLE, Mo. - Since its inception at Northwest Missouri State in 1954, the Delta Nu Chapter of Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity has passed more than 1,600 young men through its doors.

In 1989, one of these men, Steve Moss ('87), coordinated the establishment of the Tau Kappa Epsilon Memorial Scholarship as a permanent endowment to provide scholarships for its Delta Nu actives in honor of the chapter's 35th anniversary celebration at Northwest.

As the chapter celebrated its 55th anniversary in 2009, TKE alumni, coordinated by Merle Jones ('73), requested a change in the scholarship's name and purpose so the fund could better assist the fraternity's active members as a pass-through scholarship fund by providing $1,000 awards known as the TKE Delta Nu Actives Scholarship.

Additionally, in 2008, Pete Greve ('74) rallied support from his fraternity brothers to establish a new scholarship in honor of the bond they developed during their years on campus. Under Greve's coordination, the Northwest TKE alumni stepped up, not only to assist their alma mater but also the youth in their communities. After nominating eligible high school seniors, the TKEs took great pride in awarding the first TKE Alumni Scholarship for the 2008-09 academic year in the amount of $1,000.

Following Greve's death in 2009, TKE alumni renamed the fund the Peter J. Greve Memorial TKE Alumni Scholarship in memory of Greve and his efforts to reconnect TKE alumni with their alma mater.

For more information or to contribute to these or other scholarships, contact Laurie Long at or (660) 562-1248.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468