This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Student leaders of the year

Northwest students and organizations were recognized this week during the University's
first student organization and leadership awards. Pictured with Vice President for Student
Affairs Dr. Jackie Elliott are, left to right, this year's Outstanding Students of the Year
Kathryn Donovan, Anthony Mittan and Erica Williams. (PHOTO BY TAYLOR ALLAN/

April 22, 2010

Students, organizations recognized for outstanding leadership

MARYVILLE, Mo. - Six Northwest students and four student organizations were honored this week during the University's first student organization and leadership awards.

Sigma Society was named Outstanding Student Organization of the Year for its service to Northwest and the Maryville community. One of the largest service organizations on campus, one nomination noted, "Sigma Society prides itself in giving back to others, whether it is personal services from the ladies or fundraising for a particular philanthropy."

Students Taking Action Through Service was named outstanding new organization, an award that was open to any organization established within the last three years. Founded with just 11 members in 2007, STATS has grown to 76 registered members who provide college tours to inner city high school students. "It allows us to talk to high school students and dismiss the preconceived notion that a four-year college is out of reach," the nomination stated. "The tours also allow us to shows students the many resources Northwest offers for students of color."

The Outstanding Student of the Year award was given to one member of each class. This year's winners are Erica Williams, sophomore physical education major from Pleasant Valley, Mo.; Anthony Mittan, a junior finance major from Beatrice, Neb.; and Kathryn Donovan, a senior public relations major from Grandview, Mo. Outstanding freshmen were recognized earlier this month by Northwest's Blue Key and Cardinal Key honor societies.

The awards banquet featured a keynote address by the University's Dean of Students Dr. Matt Baker, who challenged the student leaders to find new ways of recruiting and attracting diverse members to their organizations.

The awards and banquet were organized by the office of Campus Activities. A panel of judges selected winners based on a variety of criteria, including community service, contributions to the University, member development, academics, leadership and school spirit.

All of the winners are listed below.

  • Sustainability Leadership Award: Interfraternity Council
  • Community Leadership Award: Alternative Spring Break
  • Commitment to Diversity Award: Jason Williams
  • Outstanding Organization Advisor of the Year: Erin Murphy
  • Student Organization President of the Year: Anthony Mittan
  • Outstanding New Organization: Students Taking Action Through Service
  • Outstanding Student Organization of the Year: Sigma Society
  • Outstanding Sophomore of the Year: Erica Williams
  • Outstanding Junior of the Year: Anthony Mittan
  • Outstanding Senior of the Year: Kat Donovan

Seventeen students also were recognized as Certified Student Leaders through the National Conference on Student Leadership:

  • Amanda Balhorn
  • Anthony Mittan
  • Bethany Root
  • Cherece Milton
  • Garrett Meyer
  • Heather Niece
  • Jeff Drake
  • Jennifer Dittburner
  • Jordan McCrady
  • Katherine Byers
  • Kellie Bishop
  • Kim VanNordstrand
  • Lindsey Houle
  • Mallory Brown
  • Matt Jasinski
  • Natalie Nowiszewski
  • Yi-Ching Tsai

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Media Relations Specialist | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468