This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Jan. 29, 2010

Nominations sought for Northwest Alumni Award recipients

Maryville, Mo. - The Northwest Missouri State University Alumni Association is seeking nominations for individuals to be honored at its annual awards program. Awards will be presented to alumni, faculty and friends of the university who have demonstrated professional achievement or extraordinary dedication to Northwest.

"There are so many talented Northwest alumni and friends doing great things, and it's a pleasure for the Northwest Alumni Association to have the honor of publicly recognizing the accomplishments of these deserving individuals each year," said Steve Sutton, director of alumni relations.

Nominations, which must be received by Monday, Feb. 15, are being accepted in the following categories:

  • Distinguished Alumni Award: Recognizes Northwest alumni for their exceptional professional and personal achievement and extraordinary distinction in their chosen field.
  • Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award: Recognizes a former faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.
  • Distinguished Faculty Award: Recognizes a present faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.
  • Honorary Alumni Award: Honors Northwest friends who have served, promoted and loved the University in the tradition of a loyal graduate.
  • Turret Service Award: Acknowledges a graduate or former student for his or her significant contributions of time and talents on behalf of the University and
    the Northwest Alumni Association.
  • Young Alumni Award: Honors a graduate of the last decade for his or her exceptional achievements in career, public service or volunteerism that bring honor to the University.

Nomination forms are available at and at the Alumni House.

Last year's recipients were Dr. Mark Corson (Distinguished Faculty), Dr. Elise Gutshall '00 (Young Alumni), Mary Hamilton Purdy '72 (Distinguished Alumni), Dr. Frances Shipley '61 (Distinguished Faculty Emeritus) and Dave Snider '80, '83 (Turret Service Award).

This year's Alumni Awards Banquet is Oct. 1 in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom on the Northwest campus.

For more information, contact the Northwest Alumni Association at or 660.562.1248.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Media Relations Specialist | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468