This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Bradley Wenz Shelby Eagan Amanda Petelin Dane Hart

Left to right: Bradley Wenz, Shelby Eagan, Amanda Petelin and Dane Hart. Not pictured: Suzanne Hedberg, Caleb Holder and Corey Schrodt.

Jan. 25, 2010

Seven Northwest students awarded legislative internships

Seven Northwest students have been awarded the opportunity this spring to learn about state government and work alongside state representatives as part of the university's legislative internship program.

The program sends students to Jefferson City and allows them to gain valuable experience in the legislative process while gaining an understanding of how Missouri is governed. This year's interns will work at the Missouri Capitol throughout the 2010 legislative session.

Each student is placed in the office of a state senator or state representative, where they will track legislation, conduct research, attend committee hearings, assist with constituent issues and lead tours of the Capitol.

Interns are selected based on their grade point average, interests and political views. Candidates also are required to write an essay addressing why they should be placed in the program.

This spring's legislative interns are:

For more information on the internship program, visit:

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468