This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Nov. 4, 2009

Student yearbook, newspaper honored for excellence

Northwest's "Tower" yearbook and "The Northwest Missourian," the University's student newspaper, received awards for excellence at the Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Advisers National Convention Oct. 28-Nov. 1 in Austin, Texas.

The 2008 "Tower" received a Pacemaker Finalist Award, placing it in the top 15 of all college yearbooks nationally. Chris Lee, a recent Northwest graduate, was the yearbook's editor. Since 1927, the Pacemaker has been the highest honor available to ACP members. It is considered one the most prestigious awards in collegiate journalism.

"The Northwest Missourian" placed second in the Best of Show category for small school publication Web site's for its site. It also placed third in the Best of Show category in multimedia packages for its coverage of Northwest President Dr. John Jasinski's inauguration. Seth Cook and Courtney Edwards are editor and managing editor, respectively, of "The Northwest Missourian" and . Best of Show awards were presented to the top five colleges in each category.

Laura Widmer, assistant professor of mass communication, is director of student publications at Northwest and faculty adviser to both the "The Northwest Missourian" and "Tower." She is a recipient of the National Scholastic Press Association Pioneer Award, past-president of College Media Advisers and a member of the CMA Hall of Fame.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468