This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

Sept. 28, 2009

Northwest's Kappa Omicron Nu gains national award

Kappa Omicron Nu

Amy Lehman (left) is a student member of the national Kappa Omicron Nu Board of Directors. She is joined by Anita Coleman and Dixie McGary, Northwest alumnae who also served terms on the organization's national board.

Northwest's Kappa Alpha Chapter of Kappa Omicron Nu, a national family and consumer sciences honor society, was awarded the Chapter of Excellence Award during its national meeting in Nashville, Tenn.

The Kappa Alpha Chapter was recognized for its active programming that incorporated aspects of the honor society's goals of scholarship, leadership, ethics and service.

In addition to the Chapter of Excellence Award, Amy Lehman, a senior majoring in merchandising of textiles, apparel and furnishings, was elected as a student member of Kappa Omicron Nu's national board of directors. Lehman will serve a three-year term, and her responsibilities include helping to plan the honor society's centennial conclave. She succeeds Dixie McGary and Anita Coleman, Northwest family and consumer sciences alumnae who both served on the national board of directors.

Kappa Omicron Nu's Northwest advisers are Beth Goudge, instructor of family and consumer sciences, and Dr. Lauren Leach-Steffens, associate professor of family and consumer sciences.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468