This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

academy grads 2009

These four graduates of Northwest's Missouri Academy of Science, Mathematics and Computing were all smiles after receiving their diplomas Saturday, May 30, during ceremonies at the Ron Houston Center for the Performing Arts. Pictured from left: Hayley Danner,Maggie Doerge, Cody Dickerson and Alicia Cox.

June 2, 2009

Largest class ever graduates from Missouri Academy

Sixty-three members of the Vanguard class graduated Saturday, May 30, from Northwest's Missouri Academy of Science, Mathematics and Computing. It was the largest graduating class in the highly selective school's nine-year history.

The Missouri Academy provides an accelerated, two-year residential program for high school-age students (junior and senior years) academically talented in science, mathematics and technology. During their time at Northwest, Academy students take a demanding series of courses taught by University professors and, upon graduation, receive an associate of science degree and a high school diploma.

Besides being the largest graduating class in Academy history, the Vanguards (each entering class chooses its own name) achieved numerous academic distinctions. The list of 2009 graduates, many of whom plan to continue their education at some of the world's most prestigious universities, includes two National Merit Scholarship Finalists, three National Merit Scholarship Semi-finalists, six National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students and two National Achievement Scholarship winners. In addition, class members received more than 80 individual scholarships and awards from universities and service organizations.

Northwest President Dean L. Hubbard served as this year's graduation speaker during ceremonies at the Ron Houston Center for the Performing Arts on the Northwest campus. Hubbard, who will retire at the end of this month after 25 years as University president, was instrumental in founding the Missouri Academy in 2000 and attended a similar institution for gifted young people while growing up in Oregon.

The president and first lady Aleta Hubbard were honored by the Academy Friday evening, May 29, at a banquet attended by members of the graduating class and more than 300 family members. Speakers offering tributes to the couple included alumni from previous classes.

Prior to the banquet, large screens on either side of the podium displayed quotes by graduates about their experience at the Academy along with the names of the schools they will attend this fall. The list included such academic powerhouses as Stanford, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cornell, Johns Hopkins and Harvard University.

One of just 17 similar programs in the country -- and the only such school in the state -- the Missouri Academy provides a foundational education tailored for highly motivated students with career aspirations in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, the so-called STEM fields.

The Academy belongs to the National Consortium of Specialized Secondary Schools of Mathematics, Science and Technology (NCSSSMST) and is a founding member of the Association for the Advancement of Early Entrance-to-College Programs (AAEECP).

For more information about the Missouri Academy, including how to apply for admission, go to .

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468