This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

May 20, 2009

Student journalists receive state college media awards

Newspaper Awards

  • Lindsay Jacobs and Evan Young, "1917-2008," honorable mention in News Writing


  • Kenny Larabee, "Playing by Ear," honorable mention in Feature Writing


  • Brian Bosiljevac, "The Express," first place in Sports Columns


  • Christopher Woodland, "Virtual Gaming Division," honorable mention in Sports Columns


  • Seth Cook, "Main Mess," honorable mention in News Photography


  • Jarod Clarke, "Celebratory Sendoff," honorable mention in Feature Photography


  • Terol Pursell, "Checkmate," third place in Editorial Cartoons


  • Courtney Edwards, "Celebrate '98," third place in Information Graphics


  • Ashley Bally, "Winter's Wrath," first place in Page One Design


  • Courtney Edwards, "True Life," second place in Feature Pages


  • Courtney Edwards, "Green," third place in Feature Pages


  • Northwest Missourian, "Sole Man," second place in Special Section


  • Northwest Missourian, "Film Makers," third place in Special Section


  • Northwest Missourian, first place in Best Overall Newspaper


Yearbook Awards

  • Jennifer Riepe, first place and honorable mention in Feature Photography


  • Jennifer Riepe, second place in Sports Photography


  • Kayleen Vande Kamp, honorable mention in Sports Photography


  • Amy Naas, second place in Feature Writing


  • Kate Hall, third place in Personality Profile


  • Jessica Nelson, honorable mention in Personality Profile


  • Erik Schrader, first and second place in Student Life Design


  • Allison Wilson, first and second place in Sports Design


  • Brooke Veer and Katie Pierce, first place in Portrait Design


  • Eric Mackey and Katie Pierce, second place in Portrait Design


  • Chris Lee, Katie Pierce and Kylie Guier, first place in Theme Development

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Media Relations Specialist | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468