This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

April 23, 2009

Dr. Margaret Drew receives state teaching award

Dr. Margaret Drew

Dr. Margaret Drew

Dr. Margaret Drew, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, is this year's Missouri Higher Education Teacher of the Year from Northwest Missouri State University.

Sponsored by the Missouri Council on Public Higher Education, the state Higher Education Teacher of the Year Award is presented annually by the office of Gov. Jay Nixon to faculty members at each of Missouri's 13 four-year public universities.

Drew joined the Northwest faculty in 1996 after teaching elementary school for 13 years and serving as an instructor at Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville for ten years. She completed a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction/literacy from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale in 1995.

In addition serving as an instructor and mentor to education majors and graduate students on the Maryville campus, Drew also teaches courses at the University's Northwest Kansas City Center in Liberty.

Earlier this year, Drew received the Dean's Faculty Award for teaching from Northwest's College of Education and Human Services, which was bestowed in recognition of her "established reputation for excellence as a teacher and academic advisor" and her "consistently outstanding" student evaluations. Other accomplishments include Drew's role in the creation of on-line courses in education and coordination of the University's graduate program for reading specialists.

"I have been blessed to work with wonderful department chairs and mentors, including Drs. André Bayliss, Betty Bush, Jean Bouas and Barbara Crossland," Drew said. "All have supported and encouraged every curriculum and instruction professor to stay current in our fields of expertise, to develop instructional skills and to support each other's efforts in achieving individual educational goals."

Drew also credited her colleagues in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction and at the University's Horace Mann Laboratory School with inspiring both undergraduate education majors and in-service teachers working toward advanced degrees to improve learning opportunities for children.

"Northwest has been, for me, the perfect place to teach," she said.

Drew received the Missouri Higher Education Teacher of the Year Award April 22 in Jefferson City during a ceremony attended Dr. Carolyn Mahoney, president of Lincoln University, and Kathy Swan, chair of the Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Education.

The award was presented to Drew and her co-winners by Missouri State University President Michael T. Nietzel and Dr. Robert Stein, commissioner of the Missouri Department of Higher Education. Jewel Scott, executive director of the Civic Council of Greater Kansas City, delivered the keynote address.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468