This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

asl inductees med

The students pictured above were recently inducted into the Xi Alpha chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, an academic honor society for non-traditional students. Shown front row, left to right: Racyndeah Wake, Kyisha Pritchett, Michelle Henning, Lisa Hise, Selena Owens and Sue Nickerson. Shown back row, left to right: Shane Warren, Jeff Drake, Dixie McGary and Paul Jordan.

April 22, 2009

Non-traditional students inducted into honor society

Founded in fall 2008, the Northwest Xi Alpha chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, an academic honor society for non-traditional students, recently inducted its first class of members.

Pat Wyatt, a reference specialist on the staff of the B.D. Owens Library, served as guest speaker during the induction ceremony, which took place April 18 in the First Ladies Dining Room of the J.W. Jones Student Union. Dr. Max Ruhl, dean of the College of Education and Human Services, was on hand to welcome the charter members into the society.

ASL is a national organization that seeks to recognize the special contributions of students who achieve classroom excellence while also fulfilling obligations to families and employers.

"We wanted to reward the academic accomplishments that our students have made despite the fact that many of them juggle full-time jobs and family responsibilities in concert with their school work," said Jackie Elliott, Northwest's vice president for student affairs. "This is a wonderful way to honor their hard work and determination."

To be eligible for ASL membership, students must maintain a 3.5 grade-point average while earning at least 24 credit hours at the University.

This year's inductees include seniors Kelli Caselman, geology, Maryville; John David, psychology/sociology, Ravenwood; Jeffrey Drake, industrial psychology, Maryville; Michelle Henning, geography, Maryville; Jamie Israel, family and consumer science education, Mount Moriah; Paul Jordan, mathematics education, Moberly; Dixie McGary, child and family studies/recreation, Maryville; Amanda Nelson, Maryville; Sue Nickerson, industrial psychology, Maryville; Jennifer Owens, accounting, King City; Marion Tittle, business management, Maysville; and Shane Warren, advertising, Beatrice, Neb.

Other inductees were: Kent Berte, junior, business management, Humboldt, Iowa; Lisa Hise, junior, geography, Maryville; Selena Owens, sophomore, psychology, Maryville; Kyisha Merrigan Pritchett, psychology/sociology, Maryville; and Racyndeah Wake, junior, business management, Maryville.

Also honored during the ceremony were Northwest faculty and staff selected for their dedication to and support of non-traditional students attending the University. Inducted as honorary charter members of the society were: Dr. Carla Edwards, Psychology, Sociology and Counseling; Beth Goudge, Family and Consumer Sciences; Dr. April Haberyan, Psychology, Sociology and Counseling; University President Dean L. Hubbard; Terri Johnston, English; Dr. Lauren Leach-Steffens, Family and Consumer Sciences; Dr. Chi-Lo Lim, Marketing and Management; Mrs. Jacqueline Loghry, Student Support Services; Dr. Cheryl Malm, Mathematics and Statistics; Dr. Susan Myllykangas, Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance; Dr. John Pope, Geology and Geography; Dr. Renee Rohs, Geology and Geography; Allison Strong, Marketing and Management; Deb Toomey, Marketing and Management; Denise Weiss, Mathematics and Statistics; Pat Wyatt, B.D. Owens Library; and Northwest Provost Kichoon Yang.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468