This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University


Experts at Northwest

Northwest Missouri State University offers a wide range of faculty and staff who are available to give interviews and presentations on various topics.

To arrange an interview or lecture, you may contact the individual directly. If a specific topic or speaker is not listed, or if you need more information, contact Northwest Media Relations Specialist Mark Hornickel by phone at 660.562.1704 or by e-mail at mhorn@nwmissouri.edu.

Media please note: Occasionally people on our list of media resources are experts not by virtue of their affiliation with Northwest, but through their personal interests and research, life experiences or previous work experience. Please clarify when possible in your news stories and broadcasts when this is the case.

Area of Expertise

Expert Contact Information

Alternative energy and biofuels

Larry Lee
Director, CIE
660.562.0823, llee@nwmissouri.edu

John Redden
Associate Director, Office of Facility Services
660.562.1709, jredden@nwmissouri.edu

James Teaney
Steam Plant Supervisor, Office of Facility Services
660.562.1186, jteaney@nwmissouri.edu

American history

Dr. Matthew Johnson
Instructor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1471, mjohnso@nwmissouri.edu

Astronomy

Dr. John Shaw
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1636, jshaw@nwmissouri.edu

Balloon twisting

Shawn Wake
Performance facilities manager
660.562.1230, swake@nwmissouri.edu

Biotechnology/​plant biologics

Dr. Jeff Thornsberry
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1812, jthorns@nwmissouri.edu

College student development

Dr. Alisha Francis
Assistant Professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences and Director, Freshman Seminar Program
660.562.1663, alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Crisis management

Mike Ceperley
Lieutenant, University Police
660.562.1245, cep@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Gerald Wilmes
Director of Health Services
660.562.1349, gwilmes@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Mark Corson
Associate Professor, Department of Social Sciences
660.562.1672, MCORSON@nwmissouri.edu

Diversity

Dr. Jeffrey Foot
Director of International Affairs and ESL
660.562.1367, JFOOT@nwmissouri.edu

Education (primary and secondary)

Dr. Joyce Piveral
Dean, College of Education and Human Services
660.562.1778, piveral@nwmissouri.edu

Educational technology

Dr. Nancy Zeliff
Professor, Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Information Systems
660.562.1292, nzeliff@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Darla Runyon
Director, Center for Information Technology in Education
660.562.1532, drunyon@nwmissouri.edu

European history and politics

Dr. Joel Benson
Chair, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1613, jbenson@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Brett Chloupek
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1385, brett@nwmissouri.edu

Film history

Dr. Richard Black
Assistant professor, Department of English and Modern Languages
660.562.1744, rblack@nwmissouri.edu

Financial management

Dr. John Baker
Associate Professor, Department of Business
660.562.1699, jbaker@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Lauren Leach
Associate Professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences
660.562.1851, lleach@nwmissouri.edu

Financing College

Del Morley
Director, Financial Assistance
660.562.1138, dmorley@nwmissouri.edu

Amee Wilmes
Senior Assistant Director of Federal & State Programs, Financial Assistance
660.562.1988, ameade@nwmissouri.edu

Gifted students

Dr. Cleo Samudzi
Dean, Missouri Academy of Science, Mathematics and Computing; Director, Honors Program
660.562.1077, samudzi@nwmissouri.edu

Group and team dynamics

Dr. Alisha Francis
Assistant Professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences and Director, Freshman Seminar Program
660.562.1663, alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Health, fitness and wellness

Dr. Matt Symonds
Assistant Professor, Department of Health and Human Services
660.562.1069, msymond@nwmissouri.edu

Loren Butler
Associate Professor, Department of Health and Human Services
660.562.1066, lbutler@nwmissouri.edu

Judy Frueh
Clinic Supervisor, Wellness Services
660.562.1348, jfrueh@nwmissouri.edu

Information technology

Dr. Roger Von Holzen
Director of Information Technology
660.562.1134, rvh@nwmissouri.edu

Instructional television (ITV)

Mike Grudzinski
Distance Learning Manager
660.562.1529, mgrud@nwmissouri.edu

International affairs

Dr. Brian Hesse
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1761, bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Foot
Director of International Affairs and ESL
660.562.1367, jfoot@nwmissouri.edu

Library services

Dr. Leslie Galbreath
Dean, Academic and Library Services
660.562.1192, leslies@nwmissouri.edu

Literature

Dr. Michael Hobbs
Professor/Chair, Department of English and Modern Languages
660.562.1285, mhobbs@nwmissouri.edu

Literature, American

Dr. Richard Black
Assistant professor, Department of English and Modern Languages
660.562.1744, rblack@nwmissouri.edu

Marketing and advertising

Dr. Jim Walker
Associate Professor, Department of Business
660.562.1858, jwalker@nwmissouri.edu

Mass media

Dr. Jody Strauch
Assistant Professor, Department of Communications and Mass Media
660.562.1823, jody@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Doug Sudhoff
Assistant Professor, Department of Communications and Mass Media
660.562.1822, dsuds@nwmissouri.edu

Fred Lamer
Assistant Professor, Department of Communications and Mass Media
660.562.1617, lamer@nwmissouri.edu

Mental health

Dr. Carla Edwards
Professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences
660.562.1263, edwards@nwmissouri.edu

Middle East

Dr. Brian Hesse
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1761, bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Music, classical

Dr. Ernest Kramer
Professor, Department of Fine and Performing Arts
660.562.1319, kramer@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Rebecca Dunnell
Associate Professor, Department of Fine and Performing Arts
660.562.1791, dunnell@nwmissouri.edu

Music, international

Dr. Rebecca Dunnell
Associate Professor, Department of Fine and Performing Arts
660.562.1791, dunnell@nwmissouri.edu

Music, popular/​jazz

Dr. William Richardson
Associate Professor, Department of Fine and Performing Arts
660.562.1316, billr@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Brian Lanier
Associate Professor, Department of Fine and Performing Arts
660.562.1790, blanier@nwmissouri.edu

Philosophy and religion

Dr. James Eiswert
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1257, jeiswer@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Richard Field
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1296, rfield@nwmissouri.edu

Political science, government

Dr. Robert Dewhirst
Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1760, dewhirs@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Brian Hesse
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1761, bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Daniel Smith
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1293, desmith@nwmissouri.edu

Politics and current events

Dr. Robert Dewhirst
Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
660.562.1760, dewhirs@nwmissouri.edu

Public school law (K-12)

Dr. Kristi Alexander
Associate professor, Department of Professional Education
660.562.1768, kalex@nwmissouri.edu

Social media

Brandon Stanley
Chief Officer of Marketing and Design
660.562.1628, brandon@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Jody Strauch
Assistant Professor, Department of Communications and Mass Media
660.562.1823, jody@nwmissouri.edu

Special education/​children with disabilities

Dr. Nancy Foley
Associate Professor, Department of Professional Education
660.562.1240, nfoley@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Shirley Steffens
Associate Professor, Department of Professional Education
660.562.1443, steffen@nwmissouri.edu

Stress management

Dr. Alisha Francis
Assistant Professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences and Director, Freshman Seminar Program
660.562.1663, alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Student affairs, student life

Dr. Matt Baker
Vice President of Student Affairs
660.562.1219, mcbaker@nwmissouri.edu

Substance abuse prevention and intervention

Dr. Carla Edwards
Professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences
660.562.1263, edwards@nwmissouri.edu

Sustainability

John Viau
Sustainability Coordinator
660.562.1370, jviau@nwmissouri.edu

Team development

Rose Viau
Director, Residential Life
660.562.1085, rviau@nwmissouri.edu

Textbooks, electronic

Dr. Darla Runyon
Director, Textbook Services
660.562.1532, drunyon@nwmissouri.edu

Textbooks, rental programs

Dr. Darla Runyon
Director, Textbook Services
660.562.1532, drunyon@nwmissouri.edu

Teri Tobin
Manager, Textbook Services
660.562.1150, ttobin@nwmissouri.edu

Weather, severe storms

Jeff Bradley
Instructor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1818, jbradle@nwmissouri.edu