This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University


Experts at Northwest

Northwest Missouri State University offers a wide range of faculty and staff who are available to give interviews and presentations on various topics.

To arrange an interview or lecture, you may contact the individual directly. If a specific topic or speaker is not listed, or if you need more information, contact Northwest Communication Manager Mark Hornickel by phone at 660.562.1704 or by e-mail at mhorn@nwmissouri.edu.

Media please note: Occasionally people on our list of media resources are experts not by virtue of their affiliation with Northwest, but through their personal interests and research, life experiences or previous work experience. Please clarify when possible in your news stories and broadcasts when this is the case.

Area of Expertise

Expert Contact Information

Aging/​​gerontology

Tyler TappsTyler Tapps
Assistant Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1781 | tytapps@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Sue MyllykangasDr. Sue Myllykangas
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1377 | susanm@nwmissouri.edu

American history

Dr. Matthew JohnsonDr. Matthew Johnson
Instructor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1471 | mjohnso@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Elyssa FordDr. Elyssa Ford
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1213 | ebford@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Robert VossDr. Robert Voss
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1294 | rbvoss@nwmissouri.edu

Assessment and standardized testing

Dr. Tim WallDr. Tim Wall
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1179 | timwall@nwmissouri.edu

Biotechnology/​plant biologics

Dr. Jeff ThornsberryDr. Jeff Thornsberry
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1812 | jthorns@nwmissouri.edu

Collaboration

Shantel FarnanShantel Farnan
Instructor, School of Education
660.562.1450 | sfarnan@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Vicki SeegerDr. Vicki Seeger
Assistant Professor, School of Education
660.562.1541 | vseeger@nwmissouri.edu

College student development

Dr. Alisha FrancisDr. Alisha Francis
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1663 | alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Community and urban relations

Dr. Kevin RomigDr. Kevin Romig
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1201 | romig@nwmissouri.edu

Criminal justice

Dr. Kim CaseyDr. Kim Casey
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1290 | kcasey@nwmissouri.edu

Dietetics/​Nutrition

Karen FromKaren From
Instructor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1167 | fromkar@nwmissouri.edu

Kelli WilmesKelli Wilmes
Instructor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1451 | wilmesk@nwmissouri.edu

Diversity

Dr. Jeffrey FootDr. Jeffrey Foot
Director, International Programs
660.562.1367 | JFOOT@nwmissouri.edu

Education (primary and secondary)

Dr. Timothy WallDr. Timothy Wall
Director, School of Education
660.562.1179 | timwall@nwmissouri.edu

Educational policy

Dr. Tim WallDr. Tim Wall
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1179 | timwall@nwmissouri.edu

Educational technology

Dr. Nancy ZeliffDr. Nancy Zeliff
Professor, Department of Mathematics, Computer Science & Information Systems
660.562.1292 | nzeliff@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Darla Runyon Dr. Darla Runyon
Director, Center for Information Technology in Education
660.562.1532 | drunyon@nwmissouri.edu

Emergency and disaster management

Mike CeperleyMike Ceperley
Lieutenant, University Police
660.562.1245 | cep@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Gerald WilmesDr. Gerald Wilmes
Director, Wellness Services
660.562.1349 | gwilmes@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Mark CorsonDr. Mark Corson
Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1672 | mcorson@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Matthew JohnsonDr. Matthew Johnson
Instructor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1471 | mjohnso@nwmissouri.edu

Equity/​social justice issues

Dr. Tim WallDr. Tim Wall
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1179 | timwall@nwmissouri.edu

European history and politics

Dr. Joel BensonDr. Joel Benson
Professor/Chair, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1613 | jbenson@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Brett ChloupekDr. Brett Chloupek
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1385 | brett@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Dawn GilleyDr. Dawn Gilley
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1839 | dgilley@nwmissouri.edu

Experiential education

Dr. Alice FooseDr. Alice Foose
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1297 | afoose@nwmissouri.edu

Film history

Dr. Richard BlackDr. Richard Black
Assistant Professor, Department of Language, Literature and Writing
660.562.1744 | rblack@nwmissouri.edu

Financial management

Dr. Lauren LeachDr. Lauren Leach
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1851 | lleach@nwmissouri.edu

Financing college

Charles MayfieldCharles Mayfield
Director, Financial Assistance
660.562.1138 | mayfield@nwmissouri.edu

Amee WilmesAmee Wilmes
Senior Assistant Director of Federal & State Programs, Financial Assistance
660.562.1988 | ameade@nwmissouri.edu

Geographic information systems

Dr. Ming HungDr. Ming Hung
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1797 | mhung@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. YiHwa WuDr. YiHwa Wu
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1869 | ywu@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Patty DrewsDr. Patty Drews
Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1273 | drews@nwmissouri.edu

Geology

Dr. John PopeDr. John Pope
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1211 | jppope@nwmissouri.edu

Gifted students

Dr. Cleo SamudziDr. Cleo Samudzi
Dean, Missouri Academy
660.562.1077 | samudzi@nwmissouri.edu

Group and team dynamics

Dr. Alisha FrancisDr. Alisha Francis
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1663 | alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Health, fitness and wellness

Dr. Matt SymondsDr. Matt Symonds
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1069 | msymond@nwmissouri.edu

Loren ButlerLoren Butler
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1066 | lbutler@nwmissouri.edu

Judy FruehJudy Frueh
Clinic Supervisor, Wellness Services
660.562.1348 | jfrueh@nwmissouri.edu

Instructional television (ITV)

Mike GrudzinskiMike Grudzinski
Distance Learning Manager, Northwest Education Consortium
660.562.1529 | mgrud@nwmissouri.edu

International affairs

Dr. Brian HesseDr. Brian Hesse
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1761 | bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Jeffrey FootDr. Jeffrey Foot
Director, International Programs
660.562.1367 | jfoot@nwmissouri.edu

Language, speech and dialects

Dr. Christopher StrellufDr. Christopher Strelluf
Assistant Professor, Department of Language, Literature and Writing
660.562.1997 | cstrell@nwmissouri.edu

Leadership

Dr. Alice FooseDr. Alice Foose
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1297 | Leadership

Library services

Kathy HartKathy Hart
660.562.1297, Library Services and Operations
660.562.1192 | juliah@nwmissouri.edu

Lifespan development

Dr. Alice FooseDr. Alice Foose
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1297 | afoose@nwmissouri.edu

Literature

Dr. Michael HobbsDr. Michael Hobbs
Professor/Chair, Department of Language, Literature and Writing
660.562.1285 | mhobbs@nwmissouri.edu

Literature, American

Dr. Richard BlackDr. Richard Black
Assistant Professor, Department of Language, Literature and Writing
660.562.1744 | rblack@nwmissouri.edu

Marketing and advertising

Dr. Jim WalkerDr. Jim Walker
Professor, Department of Business
660.562.1858 | jwalker@nwmissouri.edu

Mass media

Dr. Jody StrauchDr. Jody Strauch
Assistant Professor, Department of Communications & Mass Media
660.562.1823 | jody@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Jody StrauchDr. Jody Strauch
Assistant Professor, Department of Communications & Mass Media
660.562.1822 | dsuds@nwmissouri.edu

Fred LamerFred Lamer
Assistant Professor, Department of Communications & Mass Media
660.562.1617 | lamer@nwmissouri.edu

Mental health

Dr. Carla EdwardsDr. Carla Edwards
Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1263 | edwards@nwmissouri.edu

Middle East

School of Health Science & WellnessSchool of Health Science & Wellness
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1761 | bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Music, classical

Dr. Ernest KramerDr. Ernest Kramer
Professor, Department of Fine & Performing Arts
660.562.1319 | kramer@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Rebecca DunnellDr. Rebecca Dunnell
Associate Professor, Department of Fine & Performing Arts
660.562.1319 | kramer@nwmissouri.edu

Music, international

Dr. Rebecca DunnellDr. Rebecca Dunnell
Associate Professor, Department of Fine & Performing Arts
660.562.1791 | dunnell@nwmissouri.edu

Music, popular/​jazz

Dr. William RichardsonDr. William Richardson
Professor, Department of Fine & Performing Arts
660.562.1316 | billr@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Brian LanierDr. Brian Lanier
Associate Professor, Department of Fine & Performing Arts
660.562.1316 | blanier@nwmissouri.edu

Neuroscience and pharmacology

Dr. Ryan WessellDr. Ryan Wessell
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1264 | wessell@nwmissouri.edu

Philosophy and religion

Dr. James EiswertDr. James Eiswert
Associate Professor, wessell@nwmissouri.edu
660.562.1257 | jeiswer@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Richard FieldDr. Richard Field
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1296 | rfield@nwmissouri.edu

Political science, government

Dr. Brian HesseDr. Brian Hesse
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1761 | bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Brian HesseDr. Brian Hesse
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1761 | bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. David JeromeDr. David Jerome
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1991 | davidj@nwmissouri.edu

Public school law (K-12)

Dr. Kristi AlexanderDr. Kristi Alexander
Associate Professor, davidj@nwmissouri.edu
660.562.1768 | kalex@nwmissouri.edu

Research methods

Dr. Terry LongDr. Terry Long
Chair/Professor, kalex@nwmissouri.edu
660.562.1297 | tlong@nwmissouri.edu

Service learning

Tyler TappsTyler Tapps
660.562.1297, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1781 | tytapps@nwmissouri.edu

Social media

Brandon StanleyBrandon Stanley
660.562.1781, tytapps@nwmissouri.edu
660.562.1628 | brandon@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Jody StrauchDr. Jody Strauch
Vice President, Department of Communications & Mass Media
660.562.1823 | jody@nwmissouri.edu

Special education/​children with disabilities

Dr. Shirley SteffensDr. Shirley Steffens
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1443 | steffen@nwmissouri.edu

Shantel FarnanShantel Farnan
Instructor, School of Education
660.562.1450 | sfarnan@nwmissouri.edu

Stress management

Dr. Alisha FrancisDr. Alisha Francis
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1663 | alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Student affairs, student life

School of Health Science & WellnessSchool of Health Science & Wellness
Vice President, Student Affairs
660.562.1219 | mcbaker@nwmissouri.edu

Substance abuse prevention and intervention

Dr. Carla EdwardsDr. Carla Edwards
Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1263 | edwards@nwmissouri.edu

Suicide prevention, intervention and postvention

Dr. Jackie KiblerDr. Jackie Kibler
Assistant Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1056 | jkibler@nwmissouri.edu

Sustainability

John ViauJohn Viau
Sustainability Coordinator, Facility Services
660.562.1370 | jviau@nwmissouri.edu

Team development

Facility ServicesFacility Services
Director, Residential Life
660.562.1085 | rviau@nwmissouri.edu

Textbooks, electronic

Textbook ServicesTextbook Services
Director, ttobin@nwmissouri.edu
660.562.1532 | drunyon@nwmissouri.edu

Textbooks, rental programs

Dr. Darla RunyonDr. Darla Runyon
Director, Center for Information Technology in Education
660.562.1532 | Textbooks, rental programs

Teri TobinTeri Tobin
Director, Textbook Services
660.562.1150 | drunyon@nwmissouri.edu

Therapeutic recreation

Dr. Terry LongDr. Terry Long
Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1297 | tlong@nwmissouri.edu

Volunteerism

Dr. Alice FooseDr. Alice Foose
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1297 | afoose@nwmissouri.edu

Weather, severe storms

Jeff BradleyJeff Bradley
Instructor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1818 | jbradle@nwmissouri.edu