Fiftieth Faculty Senate Northwest Missouri State University Faculty Senate Agenda September 6, 2023 OL210

Officers:

Rhonda Beemer, President Rob Voss, President-Elect Kristi Alexander, Past-President John Gallaher, Parliamentarian Jill Baker, Secretary

At large Senators:

College of Arts and Sciences
Richard Black (2nd term, 1st year)
Brett Chloupek (1st term 2nd year)
Elyssa Ford (1st term, 2nd year)
John Gallaher (2nd term, 1st year)
Luke Campbell (1st term, 1st year)

Professional Schools

Giselle Greenridge (1st term, 1st year) Ajay Bandi (2nd term, 2nd year) Keely Cline (1st term, 2nd year)

Araceli Hernandez Gonzalez (1st term, 1st year)

Department and School Senators

College of Arts and Sciences

Fine & Performing Arts: Tony Olson (1st term, 2nd year)

HHS: Devlin Scofield (2nd term, 2nd year) LLW: Trevor Meyer (1st term, 2nd year)

Math and Statistics: Csilla Tasi Natural Sciences – XXXXX Professional Schools

Ag Sciences – Mike Miller (2nd term, 2nd year)

Business – XXXXX

Communication and Mass Media – XXXXX

Computer Sci & Info Sys – Aziz Fellah (1st term, 2nd year)

Education – Ashley Strickland (1st term, 1st year)

Health Sci & Wellness – Machelle Skinner (1st term, 2nd year)

Senate Committee Leads:

Academic Appeals: Giselle Greenidge Academic Petitions: Mike Miller

Designated Curriculum Matters: Heather Hill

Assessment: Aziz Fellah

Faculty Welfare, Budget, and Finance: Elyssa Ford

Teaching and Learning: Sue Myllykangas

CDR: Trevor Meyer

Academic Integrity Panel: Devlin Scofield

Legislative: Brett Chloupek

Alternates:

Michael Bellamy (2nd term, 2nd year

XXXXX

Wayne Chandler (1st term, 2nd year) Joseph Haughey (1st term, 1st year) Kurtis Fink (1st term, 2nd year)

Stephen Ludwig (1st term, 1st year) Sandy Seipel (1st term, 1st year) Dan Gordon (1st term, 2nd year) Tekle Wanorie (1st term, 2nd year)

Alternates:

Bill Richardson

XXXXX Heather Hill Jawad Sadek Kurt Kaberyan

Stuart Sprague

XXXXX XXXXX Cindy Tu Jill Baker

Sue Myllykangus

Non-Senator Leads:

COTE: TBD

Graduate Council: Stuart Sprague

Research: Kim Casey
IRB: Machelle Skinner

Research-Animal Welfare: Jay McGee University Seminar: Brian Swink

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Senate change of leadership
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Approval of Minutes (previous meeting)
- 5. Reports:
 - NW President Report (Dr. Tatum)
 - Provost's Report (Dr. Hooyman)
 - Human Resources (Krista Barcus)
 - University Police (Dr. Green)
 - Special Guest
 - o Dr. Tyler Tapps (below from Dr. Beemer on behalf of Dr. Tapps)
 - Wellness Support link in every Northwest class providing immediate 'real-time' access to 24/7 counseling, alcohol checkup, cannabis checkup, and Therapy Assistance online for all students and staff
 - With RESPOND training no longer accessible: we have developed a comprehensive yet more time-efficient training for mental health awareness called CALM. It will launch in September
 - Developing and implementing our "Mental Health Playbook" a guide for instructors/staff and students for all things mental health to keep our students in the classroom. It comes complete with drafted email responses and motivational interviewing techniques for all those who really don't know how to engage someone suffering from all forms of mental health
 - Includes the new resources developed by the county related to access to getting care
 - University Seminar updates related to Wellness
 - Senate President's Report (Rhonda Beemer)
 - Academic Petitions (Mike Miller)
 - Academic Appeals (Giselle Greenidge)
 - CDR (Trevor Meyer)
 - DCM (Heather Hill)
 - Assessment(Aziz Fellah)
 - Teaching and Learning (Sue Myllykangas)
 - Academic Integrity Panel (Devlin Scofield)
 - Faculty Welfare, Budget, and Finance (Elyssa Ford)
 - Legislative (Brett Chloupek)
 - COTE, Graduate Council, Research, IRB, Animal Welfare, University Seminar

6. Old Business

a. None

7. New Business

a. Proposals

- 8. Items from the Floor
- 9. Closed Session (when necessary)