# Forty-Ninth Faculty Senate Northwest Missouri State University Faculty Senate Agenda March 1, 2023 Brown Hall 239

### **Officers:**

Kristi Alexander, President Rhonda Beemer, President-Elect Peter Adam, President Emeritus and Parliamentarian Bob Bergland, Secretary

### **At-Large Senators:**

College of Arts and Sciences: Richard Black (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year) Brett Chloupek (2<sup>nd</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year) Elyssa Ford (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year) John Gallaher (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year) Rob Voss (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year)

### Professional Schools:

Casey Abington (2<sup>nd</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year) Ajay Bandi (2<sup>nd</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year) Keely Cline (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year) Sue Myllykangas (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year)

### **Alternates:**

College of Arts and Sciences:
Michael Bellamy (2<sup>nd</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)
Alisha Campbell (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year)
Wayne Chandler (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)
Shelley Riley (2<sup>nd</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)
Kurtis Fink (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)

Dan Gordon (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year) Nissa Ingraham (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year) Stephen Ludwig (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year) Telke Wanorie (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)

# Department and School:

# College of Arts & Sciences: Fine & Performing Arts HSS Language, Lit & Writing Math & Statistics Natural Sciences Professional Schools: Agricultural Sciences Business Comm & Mass Media Comp Sci & Info Sys Education Health Sci & Wellness

### **Senators:**

Abdelmonaem Jornaz (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year)
Rafiq Islam (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year)
Mike Miller (2<sup>nd</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)
Renee Adebile (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year)
Brenda Rourke (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year)
Aziz Fellah (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)
Linda Smith (1<sup>st</sup> term, 2<sup>nd</sup> year)
Machelle Skinner (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)

Tony Olson (2<sup>nd</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)

Devlin Scofield (2<sup>nd</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)

Trevor Meyer (1<sup>st</sup> term, 1<sup>st</sup> year)

### **Alternates:**

Bill Richardson

Luke Campbell

Heather Hill

Jawad Sadek Kurt Kaberyan Stuart Sprague Shih-Hsien Chuang Brenda Rourke Cindy Tu Jill Baker Sue Myllykangas

# **Senate Committee Leads/Chair:**

- Academic Appeals: Ajay Bandi
   Academic Petitions: Mike Miller
- 3. Designated Curriculum Matters: Bill Richardson
- 4. Assessment: Rob Voss
- 5. Faculty Welfare, Budget, & Finance: Linda Smith

# **Non-Senate Leads:**

- 1. Council on Teacher Education: Shantel Farnan
- 2. Graduate Council: Jackie Kibler
- 3. Institutional Review Board: Machelle Skinner

- 6. Teaching & Learning: Sue Myllykangas
- 7. Curriculum & Degree Requirements: Trevor Meyer
- 8. Academic Integrity Panel: Dan Gordon & Ahmed Malkawi
- 9. Legislative: Brett Chloupek

- 4. Research/Animal Welfare: Jay McGee
- 5. University Seminar: Brian Swink

# 1. Call to Order

# 2. Approval of Agenda

# 3. Approval of the Minutes

- 2/15/2023
- 2/202/2023

# 4. Reports

- NW President's Report (Dr. Green)
- Provost's Report (Dr. Hooyman)
- Human Resources (Krista Barcus)
- University Police (Chief Cullin)
- Special Guests
  - ✓ None
- Senate President's Report (Kris Alexander)
- Academic Petitions (Mike Miller)
- Academic Appeals (Ajay Bandi)
- Curriculum and Degree Requirements (Trevor Meyer)
- Designated Curriculum Matters (Bill Richardson)
- Assessment (Rob Voss)
- Faculty Welfare, Budget, and Finance (Linda Smith)
- Teaching and Learning (Sue Myllykangas)
- Legislative Committee (Brett Chloupek)
- COTE, Graduate Council, IRB, Animal Welfare, University Seminar

### 5. Old Business

A. None

### 6. New Business

A. Call for nominations 2023-2024 officers (VP/President-Elect, Secretary, Parliamentarian)

# **B. Proposals**

ID	Initiator	Proposal	Туре	Name	Notes
Α	Ajay Bandi	223-44-02	Change Course	CSIS 44642 Application Design:	
				Patterns and Frameworks	

В	Alexander Taylor	223-03-02	New Program	Minor in Soil Science	
С	Alexander Taylor	223-03-01	New Course	AGRI 03333 Principles of	
	Alexander Taylor	225-05-01	New Course	Agroecology Agroecology	

- 7. Items from the Floor
- **8.** Closed Session (when necessary)
- 9. Adjournment

Future Senate meetings 3:30-5:30 BH239: March 15, April 5, April 19 Other dates as needed