This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

M-Club Hall of Fame Banquet is Oct. 29

Northwest's 1975 MIAA championship women's cross country team is joined by five former student-athletes and one coach to make up the 2010 M-Club Hall of Fame Class.

Don Neil '50 (track and field), Brad Ortmeier '87 (cross country/track and field), Lindsey Borgstadt Clinton '99 (cross country/track and field), Tucker Woolsey '01 (football/track and field) and Seth Wand '03 along with former baseball coach Jim Wasem have been selected for enshrinement.

The banquet and ceremony will begin at 6:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 29, in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom. Reservations were required. For more information about the event, contact Michele Steinmeyer at 660.562.1977 or

With the 2010 class, the M-Club Hall of Fame includes 100 individuals and 38 teams. The first year of individual inductions was 1980 and teams were inducted beginning in 1989.

A brief description of each inductee follows:

Don Neil - Neil is a nine-time MIAA champion, including six outdoor championships and three indoor championships. He was the high-point scorer in leading Northwest to the 1949 MIAA outdoor championship and was the second-leading scorer when the Bearcats defended their title in 1950. Northwest also won back-to-back league indoor championships in 1949 and 1950.

Neil's individual titles came in the 880-yard relay, the 220-yard dash and the 100-yard dash in outdoor competition and the 60-yard dash and mile relay in indoor competition.

Brad Ortmeier - Ortmeier may be the best distance runner in program history. He is a five-time All-American, whose seven program records have stood for more than 20 years. Ortmeier holds both the five- and 10-kilometer cross country records, the 10,000-meter run in outdoor track and both indoor and outdoor 5,000-meter run records. He also holds indoor records for the two- and three-mile runs.

Ortmeier was the national runner-up in the 10,000-meter run in 1987. His top finish nationally in the 5,000-meter run was fourth in 1986. In cross country, he placed 14th, third, sixth and second in four MIAA championship meets.

Lindsey Borgstadt Clinton - Clinton is an All-American and Academic All-American cross country performer who in 1996 and 1997 helped lead the Bearcats to the MIAA Triple Crown (cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field). Clinton also won an MIAA team cross country title in 1995.

More than 10 years since her graduation, Clinton can still be found on eight program top 10 lists including both cross country races and in three outdoor and three indoor events. Her five-kilometer cross country time of 18:22 set in 1997 is fourth-best in program history. Clinton also maintains the second-best 10,000-meter run time (37:51.93) and third-best 3,000-meter run time (10:26.60).

Tucker Woolsey - Woolsey excelled on both the gridiron and in field events in his time at Northwest. He was a four-year starting fullback who scored 22 collegiate touchdowns and helped lead the Bearcats to back-to-back national championships in 1998 and 1999. He was a six-time All-American shot putter, whose career-best throw of 58-feet-5.75-inches remains fourth in program history.

Woolsey is a three-time Academic All-American, a post-graduate scholarship recipient and was the 2001 MIAA Ken B. Jones Award Winner which is awarded annually to the league's top student-athlete.

Seth Wand - Wand is a seven-year NFL veteran who has served stints with the Houston Texans, Tennessee Titans and Oakland Raiders. He's played in 53 games and started all 16 games for the Texans during the 2004 season.

Wand was a two-time, first-team All-American for the Bearcats and a three-time All-MIAA offensive tackle. He was taken with the 75th overall pick of the 2003 NFL draft by Houston. His third-round selection is the highest draft position by any Bearcat during the Mel Tjeerdsma Era.

Jim Wasem - Wasem was 221-119 in his nine seasons as the manager of the Bearcats. He turned in the program's first 30-win season in 1975 when Northwest finished 33-9 and has the highest win percentage in program history (.650).

Wasem's teams captured MIAA championships in 1973, 1975, 1978 and 1980. The list of players Wasem coached who turned professional include Gary Gaetti, Bill Sobbe and Tom Franke among others.

1975 Women's Cross Country Team - In its first season of collegiate competition, Northwest Missouri State won the MIAA crown and placed eighth at the NAIA National Cross Country Championships. The squad was coached by Debbie Jones and starred "M" Club Hall of Famer Ann Kimm-Valdez and Yvonne Rieman.