This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

Presidential search panel meets with recruiting firm execs

A meeting of the Northwest presidential search committee and representatives from Jon McRae & Associates, an executive recruiting firm, was held Jan. 16 in J.W. Jones Student Union Boardroom.

The Board of Regents has retained the Atlanta-based firm to assist the 13-member committee in recruiting a replacement for Dr. Dean L. Hubbard who will retire July 31 after 25 years at the University's helm.

An advertisement for the position of Northwest president will soon be placed in "The Chronicle of Higher Education" and regional newspapers. The committee will be asked to select between eight and 10 candidates for off-site interviews. From that pool, two or three finalists will be invited to visit the campus.

Loch said the regents hope to announce the name of the new president sometime in April.

Kansas City alumni gather for professional networking reception

Northwest Networks-Kansas City is a group of Northwest alumni in the Kansas City area who come together to build business relationships with the common bond being Northwest.

The group's next networking reception is Thursday, Jan. 29.

Deadline nears for trip to Alaska

A few travelers from the 2006 Tourin' Bearcats trip to AlaskaThe Tourin' Bearcats travel program for Northwest alumni and friends will be headed to Alaska for an extensive scenic land tour.

The May 29-June 3, 2009, trip is open to the public. The cost is $1,299 per person and includes all excursions, tours, lodging and several meals.

Those wishing to participate in the Northwest Alumni Association-sponsored trip must make a reservation, with a $350 deposit, by Jan. 29. Final payment is due March 20. The number of travelers is limited, so reservations should be made as soon as possible.

Tjeerdsma named AFCA Coach of the Year

Coach Mel TjeerdsmaNorthwest Head Football Coach Mel Tjeerdsma has been named the NCAA Division II Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association. The announcement was made at the AFCA's yearly convention in Nashville, Tenn.

Tjeerdsma led the Bearcats to a 13-2 record, a third-consecutive MIAA championship and a fourth consecutive berth in the NCAA Division II championship game in 2008. Tjeerdsma has won 25 postseason games - the most in Division II history.

Northwest was 0-11 in Tjeerdsma's first season at Northwest in 1994. The team is 157-29 since.

Peace activist Arun Gandhi to deliver lecture

The Distinguished Lecture Series sponsored by the Office of Campus Activities will begin the spring portion of its 2008-'09 season at 8 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 29, in the Ron Houston Center for the Performing Arts during an evening with Arun Gandhi, founder of the M.K. Gandhi Institute for Nonviolence and the grandson of statesman and spiritual leader Mohandas K. Gandhi.

Born and raised in apartheid-era South Africa, Arun Gandhi was sent at age 12 to live with his grandfather in India, where he observed first-hand that country's history-changing campaign for independence through nonviolent means.

Hubbard to receive CASE leadership award

Dr. Dean L. HubbardThe Council for the Advancement and Support of Education will present Northwest President Dean L. Hubbard with its Chief Executive Leader Award on Tuesday, Jan. 27, at the annual CASE District VI conference in Kansas City.

Hubbard, who will retire in July, was nominated by the Northwest Foundation, and his nomination received letters of support from Mike Faust, president of the Northwest Foundation; Chuck Place, a former president of the Northwest Foundation; and Don Schneider, a member of the Northwest Board of Regents.

"Since arriving at Northwest in 1984, Dr. Hubbard has created a vision, inspired others, established a positive image for Northwest and increased the University's stature in the community," said Orrie Covert, vice president for university advancement and executive director of the Northwest Foundation. "He has encouraged innovation and risk-taking among Northwest employees and has actively supported the University's advancement efforts."

DeSoto native is first Honors graduate

When Jennifer Backer, a senior biology/psychology major from DeSoto, walked across the stage in Bearcat Arena last month to receive her Northwest diploma she reached two important milestones.

The first -- earning her bachelor's degree -- was largely personal, the culmination of Backer's own hard work, talent and determination. But the second cast a bright reflection on the University as a whole and its commitment to academic excellence.

Backer was the first Northwest undergraduate to complete her degree as a member of the four-year-old University Honors Program. As such, she wore a special medal over her gown as part of her academic regalia.

When it began in fall 2005, the Honors Program was a new concept for Northwest, which had never before had an academic track designed especially for gifted and highly motivated students.

Northwest expands e-text pilot program

President Dean L. Hubbard used a portion of his trimester-opening speech to faculty and staff to address an expanded University pilot program that is replacing traditional textbooks with e-texts for a growing number of Northwest students.

College honors faculty for teaching, research, service

Four faculty members who teach in Northwest's College of Education and Human Services recently received Dean's Faculty Awards for teaching, research and service. The winners and their areas of achievement are Dr. Margaret Drew Teaching, associate professor curriculum and instruction, Dr. Alisha Francis and Dr. Rebecca Hendrix, both assistant professors of psychology, sociology and counseling, and Dr. Matthew Symonds, assistant professor of health, physical education, recreation and dance.