This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

 (Photo by University Photography)

Welcome to the College of Education and Human Services

The College of Education and Human Services is one of three academic colleges at Northwest. Comprised of three departments and eleven academic areas, the College offers twenty-three different major and minor programs. Within the college are programs for Alternative Certification and Career education.  The college also offers thirteen master’s and three specialist programs. A Missouri University-Columbia and Northwest cooperative doctorate program is also available.

Within the College resides the Professional Education Unit which prepares teachers, counselors, and administrators/leaders for the state’s and nation’s schools. Northwest has been continuously accredited at the national level since the inception of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) in 1954, and by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).  The next accreditation on-site review will be conducted in spring 2014 through Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) formally NCATE.

Hands-on experiences are supported for many majors at Northwest by the Horace Mann Laboratory School, one of only two in the State of Missouri; the Phyllis and Richard Leet Center for Children and Families; and the Mozingo Outdoor Education Recreation Area (MOERA).  

For questions or for additional information about the College of Education and Human Services, call 660.562.1778 or e-mail Joyce Piveral, Dean, College of Education and Human Services.